Library Night….

After a visit with my Mom last night, Joe and I had a few minutes to spend at one of our local libraries. My copy of  The Da Vinci Code had finally arrived for pickup, after a shorter than expected wait on the reserve list. At the same time, found a couple of other great reference books to take home.

Where has this knitting book been all my life, LOL…..The Yarn Girl’s Guide to Beyond the Basics is a fantastic book from what I’ve noted so far. Do any of you have it? If so, have you made any of the patterns yet? Easy to follow instructions, quick to make, beautiful, dare I say ‘trendy’ but not over-the-top designs and great photography throughout. Whereas I usually find 2 or 3 patterns I am wanting to try in most books, I’ve already counted 5 would love to have, in this one. That to me is impressive.

PS: Just found their website/ NYC store, check it out at: The Yarn Co.  Lots of goodies there too!

 

Also found this gem of a cookbook by Carol Gelles, 1,000 Vegetarian Recipes.

Published in 1996, this appears to be an oldie but a goodie. Again, a too quick browse last night (we were having supper at 10:30, an occurance which happens all too often!)  but again, from what I’ve seen, this looks like a wonderful cookbook, for everyone. And when the title says, 1000 Vegetarian Recipes, that’s exactly what it means, not just a lot of variations on each recipe, but rather 1000 unique recipes, many vegan too. I will let you know what I’ve tried and how the recipes turn out…..

 

So far, I’ve got Chapter 1 of the Da Vinci Code read. As a lapsed Roman Catholic, it will be an even more interesting read, I believe. It was a disturbing but engrossing beginning to the book. I’m probably the last person to get around to reading this. What are your thoughts on this runaway bestseller? The movie?

That’s it for the book reviews for now. Looks like we are in for a much-needed rainstorm. The potatoes are flowering now, a nice ‘soaking from the sky’ will really help.Have a wonderful day!   🙂

(sorry book cover photos no longer available on flickr)

6 responses

  1. The book was similar in pace/content to another book I had read years ago, The Eight by Kathrine Neville. So, I kind of felt a been there/done that when I was reading it.

    The movie was 95% chapter & verse from the book, but I am glad for the little tweaks that they put into the movie. Although if it wasn’t a Ron Howard/Tom Hanks/Audry Tartou combo I may not have seen it. My brother told me that Dan Brown sold the movie rights to that character years ago for about 500K, Hope he was able to renegotiate!

  2. I love going to the library and browsing through books. It appears I go to the same sections you do – knitting and cooking. 🙂 Don’t worry about being the last person to read The Da Vinci Code. I haven’t read it.

  3. Don’t have any of those books. My mom read the DVC and wasn’t that impressed. She’s an avid reader but we don’t always agree on stuff we like. I may borrow her book. Would love to know your opinion when you’re done!

    How’s the veg recipe book? Anything look different/cool/exciting/inspiring?

    Hope the rain is peaceful and helpful, G. I love a good warm rain shower, especially at night. We don’t get much of that in the summer out here!

  4. I haven’t seen the movie yet, so I can’t comment on that. I enjoyed Da Vinci Code, but I liked its prequel, Angels and Demons, even better. I don’t think he is a very good writer (in terms of language, structure, etc.), but he certainly knows how to tell a story! I couldn’t put A&D down.

  5. I hope your reads turn out to be good ones. I haven’t read any of them but I love books. Going to the library is a favorite pasttime for both my son and I.

  6. Hi Heather, Thanks for the info. re, The DV Code…I am looking forward to finding the time to read the whole book. The movie, not an option, we are NOT Tom Hank’s fans, quite the contrary.

    Hi Beth, Im not surprised that we peruse the same library sections, and good ones they are!!! Are you planning to read the DVC???

    Hi Karen, Mixed reviews thats for sure. The movie really has been trashed, from what Ive read and heard. I am enjoying the book.
    The cookbook seems terrific, haven’t actually tried anything yet, just browsing, but that’s fun too. The rain wasn’t enough, it’s pretty dry here but not as dry as CA would be right now. I was there in the summer one year and it was very hot. I loved it though, had tons of energy while I was there, even more than usual. Sea air I guess…

    Hi Laura, You sure are an avid reader, I can tell that from comments on your site/blogs. Thanks for your thoughts on DVC and his previous book along the same lines.

    Hi Tasha, Its just finding the time to complete them thats tough these days. And I spend WAAAAAAY too much time in Blogland, this I know.

    Huggs to you all, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

