Recipe: Homemade Pizza

After reading a couple of hilarious posts in the last few days on Sheepish Annie’s  blog re: her love affair with all things pizza, I thought it would be a good time to share my homemade pizza dough recipe and make some for us too.

With the recent heat wave that’s been happening here, anything that keeps the use of the oven to a minimum is a blessing! Twenty minutes of baking time worked just fine. 🙂

Zucchini, Onion and Artichoke Pizza

Veggie Sausage, Mushroom and Green Pepper Pizza

Homemade pizza is so much better than commercial and for so many reasons. Obviously, not as expensive. Ingredients not questionable (many commercial crusts contain lard) and of course the varieties you can have fun making are endless. Healthier choices made easy for a ‘fast food’ that has stood the test of time. Pizza will be around forever I think. I certainly hope so. Enjoy!!!!

This dough recipe makes enough for 2- (14″-15″) regular crusts OR 3- (12″-13″) thin crusts (my preference).

HOMEMADE PIZZA DOUGH

Pizza dough doesn’t have to be complicated to make. This way, you can be sure what you are eating; many commercial pizza crusts contain lard. This one is from my brother Wendell’s collection of recipes and it is one of the best I’ve ever made or tasted. 

1 C. lukewarm (not hot) water

1 T. sugar or honey

2 T. dry yeast

¼ C. olive oil

½ teas. sea salt

2 ½-3 C. unbleached white flour

Optional: 1 T. mixed dried herbs of choice (oregano, thyme, savory etc…) 

In a large bowl, combine lukewarm water and sugar. Sprinkle yeast on top and stir just once. Cover and let dissolve in a warm place, about 10-15 minutes, yeast should be frothy.

Add oil and salt and then stir in just enough flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured board and knead 100 times, adding more flour if required. Dough should be smooth and satiny but not dry. Note: Add dried herbs with the flour (opt.).

Grease mixing bowl and place kneaded ball of dough in it. Cover with a dampened tea towel and let rise in a warm place for 30-40 minutes or until doubled.

Preheat oven to 450 F. Grease pizza pans.  

Divide dough in half (or 3 for thin crusts), spread out on prepared pans, forming a thin crust around edges. Hint: Wet your fingers slightly to help with this step.

Top crusts with a thin layer of tomato sauce ( go easy on this, too much means a soggy crust ) and toppings of choice. Bake for 20-25 minutes, reduce heat to 400 F after first 10 minutes, if browning too fast.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

11 responses

  1. Geraldine, you really need to stop posting food pictures on your blog! I get so hungry when I visit. 🙂 They both look delicious, but when I saw the word “artichoke” I started drooling. Maybe I’ll make pizza tonight…yum!

  2. I use a basic crust recipe to make pretty tasty calzones as well. Its a technique I’ve taught to some of the low income families with whom I work to save some $$$s on take-out costs. This one sounds yummy and will go in my “pizza file!”

  3. Hey G., tell me about this “veggie sausage,” what is it exactly and does it taste like sausage or only has the texture of sausage?

  4. I’m biiiiiiiiiiig on pizza. And it WILL be around forever. I agree about making it yourself. I have always loved to create veg*n pizzas…. yours looks heavenly!!

  5. while I was in NY my grandparents made GRILLED pizza dough for me. I thought that was cool

    Teddy

  6. email friend Elaine

    I just read the recipe and boy is my mouth drooling. Do you think I could make the dough in the bread maker. (just lazy) I might try onions, green peppers, tomatoes can we use a little cheese?
    Gee I wish it was earlier. haha
    BFN

  7. Hi Beth, Thanks for the compliment, guess Im on the right track with the recipes/photos. Drooling is good LOL…I love artichokes too, we had an artichoke pizza for supper tonight, a fav….

    Hi Annie, What a great idea for a variation, thanks for sharing this suggestion, sounds great.

    Hi Caroline, As I said in my email, I use the Yves Italian sausage, sliced very thin and it is just delicious. Let me know if Yves brand is available in the US, Im not sure?

    Hi Karen, Thanks for the kind words, they were very tasty, just as good as the photos…

    Hi Teddy, What an interesting idea, sounds delicious.

    Hi Elaine, I think it would work in the bread machine on dough cycle, I might give this a try next time. You have my cookbook I know so the recipe will be handy when you need it. Check out pages 128-9 for my topping suggestions, great with all the garden produce available right now.

    Hugs to you all and thanks for stopping by, G

  8. Hi G., just wanted to let you know that I found Yves here in the US. I didn’t find the sausage but I did find some “ground beef” made out of TSP. I’m very excited to try it and will let you know what I think.

    Thank you for the tip–I DO NOT try products like this without a personal recommendation b/c I don’t like/trust processed food, even if it’s supposedly healthy. So I’m anxious to try it based on your opinoin and will let you know what I think!

  9. Hi C, I would keep looking re: Yves/Hain Celestial products, that ‘ground meat’ is ok but not their best product. But, if they have that avail. the other varieties should be easy to order if not already there.

    Use a lot of Yves veggie ‘ham’, ‘turkey roll’ ‘pizza pepperoni’ and the Italian sausage I used in this pizza. Im sure you will be able to find these items too, nearby.

    Let me know how it goes. Don’t cook the ground round too much or it will be dry. It’s actually a TVP product, with some ingredients added.

    Hope this helps, G 🙂

  10. These homemade pizzas were so delicious and a lot better (and cheaper) than take-out. They are also fun to make,I got to help.

  11. […] did offer up some pizza suggestions (including a homemade pizza dough recipe that is never fail)  over at Veggies,Crafts and Tails, […]

Thanks so much for your comments!

