Imagine…..

…..what the world would be like, if a system of health care based on ‘health and wellness’ was the norm and not as it currently exists, where all too often the priority is  ‘disease-management’ ? Where physicians who kept their clients healthy would not only be encouraged in their efforts but rewarded financially too. It may seem far-fetched, but is it really? I have also previously read that in ancient China, this WAS the reality. Doctors were only paid when a person remained healthy, not the other way around.

Mike Adams aka the Health Ranger writes about this concept of a HEALTHY health care system and once again brings up some very thought-provoking and timely points.

Canada’s current ‘health care’ system  is just about as flawed and ineffective as it can get (in my opinion, anyways) and the U.S. appears to share many of the same problems and obviously on a much larger scale. The good news:  If consumers continue to speak out and demand health care reform, change IS going to happen and for the better. As individuals, we CAN make a difference. I think we have to; what we’ve got right now is just not working. Read the NewsTarget story at: Health Care Reform.

PS: Have you gathered, I love Mike Adams, one of my heroes 🙂

5 responses

  1. A coworker and I were talking this earlier this morning. There are many government agencies profit off of people being sick from hospitals, approved drugs, altered foods, household products, environmental pollution, etc., It’s very sad. I took a peep at your blog and low and behold you are talking about the same thing. If we ever hooked up we would have a lot to talk about.

    Oh guess what. I’m taking my knitting needles with me on vacation. I’ll finally be able to start knitting something. My July 4th vacations seems to be the only time that

  2. Absolutely. i commented on Vegan Momma’s blog about the way i feel about this, which is basically how “the system” keeps us down, much as the thieves and thugs keep the police (and lawyers, etc.) in business… unfortunate but true.

    As for the health/healer issue, it’s like a circle that we can’t get out of when it seems the answer is so simple… reward the ones who are caring for themselves and others…

  3. Hi Geraldine, I’ve been busy and off the blog lately. But this health issue is one I’m concerned about myself. There is so much to talk about with this one. I’ll stick to the food angle for now. In the U.S., part of the problem is the food we eat – much of it is heavily processed, genetically modified, chemically treated, and grown for the best shelf-life and transit hardiness instead of being grown for its healthy benefits or taste. We have the ability to seek out good food (for example through CSAs – Community Supported Agriculture, farmers markets, etc.). But it is not always easy, and organic food is usually more expensive overall. Unfortunately, eating good (healthy) food is something most Americans just don’t do. I would go so far as to say that the majority of Americans don’t think at all about the connection between what they eat and their longer-term health. Many assume that if the food is for sale that it’s safe, and even good for them. That includes Coca-Cola and all kinds of processed foods. I sure would like to see some “education” by doctors, as mentioned in the article. But first, doctors themselves have to see the benefits of natural food instead of just pills. They usually believe strongly in exercise, so why not in healthy food? I don’t think I’ve ever had a doctor ask me about my diet. The reason: a bad diet doesn’t make you sick immediately, and doctors are treating that day’s illness only. Bottom line, many doctors don’t believe in natural healing or the strength of food to heal the body. Why doesn’t a doctor ask for example if the water I drink is pure? The stuff that comes out of my tap literally smells and tastes bad. It cannot possibly be harmless. But it’s the city water and everyone just assumes it’s ok, apparently doctors included. I think we’ve got a long way to go here regarding educating people.

  4. Dear Opal, Great minds think alike, right! You and I have a lot of common beliefs that’s for sure. I enjoy reading your blog on a daily basis. Hope you have a great vacation…G

    Dear Karen, So true. And a good way of putting it, keeping us down. The system is keeping us down and poor…in so many ways.

    Thanks for stopping by and for your thoughtful and thought-provoking comments, G

  5. Hi Curt, Thanks for your comment, so true.

    This is somewhat of a ‘sore point’ for me. I’ve been doing volunteer and paid work…. studying alternative therapies,teaching vegetarian cooking, been on health org. boards, animal rights (still part of the big picture, I think) etc, etc…since I was in high school. And that’s a LONG time. 🙂

    I have NEVER understood how the ‘system’ has been allowed to get so out of whack and to make no sense at all where it is headed. To continue to pour billions (and I’m assuming trillions in the US) into ‘health care’ should read, ‘disease management’ is just insane. But on it goes….

    On the plus side, I do think, VERY slowly but surely, things are turning around. And individuals and families can and do continue to make a difference. Where have all the GOOD food choices come from, that weren’t there 20 years ago? Why are there more vegetarians and vegans every year (about a million more in the US each year, isn’t that wonderful)! Why are more and more people buying organic foods? Why are insurance plans now paying for Naturopaths and other alternative healers, in many cases? Because people are demanding better.

    Personally, I feel that I have a long way to go, in helping ‘the cause’ along but I feel that I am more aware than many people and I am trying…that’s a start, right?

    When I see people smoking, women drinking while pregnant, diners choking down big thick steaks in restaurants,grossly obese children etc……I just cringe. And in the end, we all pay, don’t we? And in more ways than one.

    I could go on and on but there’s my rant….
    Happy 4th, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

