Picnic Recipe: Marinated Bean Salad

If you are planning a picnic or patio party soon, you might want to give this Marinated Bean Salad a try. The Dijon mustard and wine vinegar gives it a wonderful tangy flavor. Make enough for the whole crowd! Transports well and great in a stir-fry if there are any leftovers. Have a great weekend! 🙂

MARINATED BEAN SALAD

Try this delicious redo of an old family favorite. Try it with Veggie Chick- Burgers  and Oven-baked fries (recipes in NJFV)  for a quick, easy and satisfying supper.  

Recipe makes 4 side servings, adjust amounts according to how many guests you are planning for.

 1 C. pre-cooked or canned chickpeas (thoroughly rinsed and drained)

2 C. green or yellow beans (or a combination of both) cut on a slant and lightly steamed

3 green onions chopped, (use the tops too )

1-2  T. Dijon mustard

3 T. wine OR balsamic vinegar (each gives a distinctive flavor)

8 T. light or regular extra virgin olive oil

2-3  T. finely-chopped fresh parsley

1/2-1 teas .sea salt, to taste (opt.)

1/8-1/2  teas. freshly-ground pepper, to taste

Combine chickpeas, beans and onions in a medium-sized salad bowl. In a small bowl combine remaining ingredients. Pour over vegetables and stir to combine thoroughly. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Serve on a bed of lettuce leaves if desired.

Reprinted from Not Just for Vegetarians by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.

 

8 responses

  1. This was the first recipe I tried from your book and it’s delicious! In fact, I think I’ll make it again this weekend. Yum!

  2. I’ll have to try this…sounds really good! Geraldine, stop by my blog and check out tonight’s entry…I think you’ll be pleased…
    (((hugs)))

  3. This will be a nice treat for the “Beanie Babies” — or at least their owners! Seriously, this sounds delish, G.

  4. Mmm green beans…they are ready to be picked in my garden. Aiyana loves chick peas! She eats some cooked foods.

  5. Looks great!! I don’t do many picnics but this would be a good idea if I did… Wonder if I could host a “vegan” picnic? Hmmmmm….. 🙂

  6. Hi Beth, Glad you are enjoying my cookbook. This is one of my fav. salads too. I am not a fan of ‘sweet’ bean salads, I like them tangy, as this one is.

    Hi Meezer’s Meowmie,Let me know how the veggie-adventures are going. Thanks for the kind words and compliments re: my recipes on your blog, much appreciated!

    Hi K, Beanie Babies and friends, all should enjoy!

    Hi Opal, Enjoyed your recipe post today. Let me know if you make this one and how it goes…

    Hi Tasha, Sounds like a GREAT idea, can I come???

    Huggs to you all and thanks for stopping by, G 🙂

  7. Wonderful sounding recipe!

    I am so going to try this too!

  8. This salad looks beyond delicious! I will certainly be tossing this together tomorrow! Thanks for sharing it!

    🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

