Calling Coconut Cooks…

Wondering if any of you have had experience, using coconut oils for cooking?

I have read several articles and a book about coconut oil. Opinions ( both experts and consumers ) I’ve read vary quite a bit. Previously much-maligned, coconut oil now appears to be the ‘in’ thing, when it comes to cooking oils and fats. Reports of the pros: aiding (sometimes dramatic) weight-loss, improving skin appearance and provide a rapid source of energy all the way to the cons: high in calories and saturated fats.

What do you think? Have you had success using coconut oil in cooking and baking? And what health benefits have you noted yourself or read about?  Thanks for sharing….. 🙂

3 responses

  1. It’s the only oil I use in cooking. My daughter eats the occasional cooked meal.

    If you get a chance read the book Fats that Heal Fats that Kill by Udo Erasmus this is one of the only oils recommended for cooking at high heat.

    I know it is high in beneficial lauric acid and it may help stabilize blood sugar. THose are only a few benefits there are many others.

  2. I have not used coconut oil as yet because I have always thought it might not go well with certain savory things, like tofu, which is what I use oil or margarine for cooking on the stovetop with. I would love to find out more about this though.

  3. Thanks for the comments on my blog! Always nice to hear from folks. After so many years of us all trembling in terror at the mere thought of fats and oils it’s nice to finally see people remembering that it’s a part of a balanced diet…well, in moderation, at any rate! I’ll be interested to see how many people are using the coconut oil.

Thanks so much for your comments!

