Quick and Easy Zucchini Stir-Fry

I’ve been getting a lot of requests lately for recipes that feature (and use up!) zucchini and the more the better! Seems that the short season this veggie appears leaves a lot of people wondering what to do with all these glorious ‘green wonders’.

Can you tell that I am a true zucchini fan?

Today I’m sharing a VERY ‘speedy’  main dish recipe, Quick and Easy Zucchini Stir-Fry.

If you have 30 minutes to get supper on the table but still want something satisfying, fresh and delicious, give this one a try. Yummy with a sprinkle of feta cheese on top (as in photo) for a nice flavor contrast. 

Also try: Zucchini and Cheddar Fettuccini, a yummy, rich and delicious main dish.

Happy Cooking! 🙂

Quick and Easy Zucchini Stir-Fry

If the garden harvest has you drowning in these glorious ‘green wonders’ prepare to enjoy this tasty dish, again and again. Quick, filling and delicious. Try it served over any type of pasta, rice, quinoa or equally good on it’s own.

Serves 2 as a main dish and 4 as a side dish.

 3 T. good quality (watch the additives!) commercial Italian salad dressing (clear, NOT creamy type)

1 medium (preferably sweet) onion, diced

4 C. cubed zucchini (unpeeled and scrubbed thoroughly if using from the garden, or peel if from the grocery store)

sea salt, freshly-ground pepper and Mrs. Dash Original Blend seasoning, to taste

Garnish: Chopped fresh parsley, feta cheese or light sour cream. 

In a large skillet or wok, heat Italian dressing over medium heat. Add onions and sauté for 1 minute. Stir in zucchini cubes and continue to sauté for 5 more minutes. Add seasoning and stir to thoroughly combine. Continue to cook for 1 more minute or until zucchini cubes are cooked through but still crunchy.

Serve immediately topped with chopped parsley, feta cheese or a drizzle of sour cream if desired.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman.All Rights Reserved.

11 responses

  1. That looks so yummy I’m making it this weekend!!! I love zucchini (hopefully so will my kids) 🙂

  2. Last night my husband asked why I had purchased buttermilk. I told him “I’m going to make a chocolate cake recipe that takes buttermilk.” I just didn’t mention the “secret ingredient.” 🙂 My zucchini is coming on strong right now and I’ve already started giving it away!

  3. Go Naked (cake)!!!

    This stir fry looks tempting as well!

  4. welp you’ve changed it up again. Love the new look. I havent picked any zucchini yet. Looks like i’ll need to pick some up soon.. I really want that cake

    teddy

  5. Geraldine you have so much energy and it just shines through. I WANT THE FOOD IN THIS PICTURE!!!

    I have your book as you know and will be reviewing the hell out of it this week PLUS I look forward to doing more with you over the coming weeks with the newsletter.

    Namaste

    Al

  6. I just bought a GIGANTIC zucchini!! This looks delicious!! I think I may make some zucchini muffins/bread as well!!

  7. Dear Opal, I love zucchini too….great time of year for it.

    Dear Mandy, Let me know how the recipe turns out and if it was a hit!

    Dear Beth, Tell hubby to leave the cooking to YOU, Im sure you do a great job!Glad you are enjoying my cookbook.

    Dear Karen, Naked cakes and stir-fries….sounds like a plan. 🙂

    Dear Teddy, Glad you like the new look, I do too. Let me know how the cake turns out…

    Dear Al, Thanks for your kind words and compliments. A big hug to you for your supportive email too, meant a lot. Yes, bring on those recipes and review, Veggie…readers, stay tuned!

    Dear Tasha, Look forward to hearing about your Z-results.

    Thanks everyone for stopping by, Geraldine 🙂

  8. It looks so good! Guess what I have some zucchini in my frig, doesn’t everyone? I know what I am going to do with now….RaeDi

    You have so many comments, thats nice some day I will have a folllowing too… hopefully

  9. being a big fan of zuchinni…jeez, did i spell that write..haha… and feta cheese it looks terrific.. zucchinni isn’t ready yet but when it comes around i will be sure to try this… this photo is deliciously tempting… and yes dear friend, i did reply to your email a few days ago…

  10. Hi RaeDi, Is sooo good, very easy and quick too. I like this one on the hot “too hot to cook” nights!
    thanks for your very kind words too. I hope you’ll stop in again soon. I love your blog btw.

    Hi Ms. Pie, Message received and names put together in the right order LOL, I didn’t want to mix up prizes and all. Hope you give this recipe a try soon.

    Hugs and Happy Wednesday, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

