Shifting Gears….Reflexology Training

     It’s been a long time coming but I am finally going to take a Foot Reflexology course, with the intention to work part-time as a certified reflexologist. This ancient healing art has been of interest to me for many years. As is often the case, it was a personal experience that made me a believer in the potential and value of this natural, non-invasive treatment.

About 15 years ago, I had my first reflexology treatment. Without telling the reflexologist what was actually my main health concern at the time (although I was definitely asked of any contra-indications to reflexology before beginning); Margeret, the reflexologist was able, through only examining and working on my feet, to pinpoint the exact source of my health problems (my adrenal glands to be specific). I was impressed and amazed.

I continued with reflexology treatments for many years after that. First to help with the adrenal exhaustion I was suffering from, later on as a stress-buster and preventative measure. I always left each session more relaxed and feeling better for having gone. My adrenals by the way, vastly improved, after a few weeks of treatments. As of the last check with my Dr. they are still A-OK. 

 

I am very excited about finally getting the opportunity to learn this healing art for myself and in turn to help other people to become healthier and more relaxed. My course begins in a couple of weeks, then a lot of practical hours to put in (oh happy feet!) and the exam for certification to follow.

My only concern to put it bluntly; clients coming for appointments with ‘stinky’ feet. I have been assured by several reflexogists, that hasn’t been the case for them.  Margeret based this on her experiences after 8 years of being a reflexologist, no bad experiences with dirty tootsies!!! If someone is interested in health and well-being, cleanliness appears to follow. For a rather squeamish person like me, that’s what I needed to hear.

 I am including some information from Wikipedia to check out re: reflexology at the bottom of this post, if you’d like to read more. This is obviously a topic of interest with many, many people….I had a lot of sites to chose from. Maybe you will decide to pursue a treatment or two. Or if you have already had treatments or perhaps you are a reflexologist, it would be great if you could share your experiences with Veggie….readers. I will keep you posted as the course progresses. 🙂

In zone therapy, a reflexology chart shows the reflex zones found on the soles of the feet. The representation of the color codes are as follows: (sorry, some photos no longer available)

 

Enlarge

       Brain
       Sinuses
       Voice
       Pituitary gland
       Neck and Throat
       Eyes
       Ears
       Armpit
       Shoulder and Arm
       Lung and Breast
       Heart
       Thyroid and Bronchial
       Solar Plexus
       Diaphragm
       Stomach
       Spleen
       Liver
       Gall Bladder
       Adrenal Gland
       Pancreas
       Kidney
       Ureter
       Bladder
       Colon
       Small Intestine
       Coccyx
       Sciatic Nerve
       Peyer’s Patches
       Appendix

  This medical treatment article is a stub. You can help Wikipedia by expanding it.

Retrieved from “http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reflexology_chart

 

12 responses

  1. Ah, reflexology. Nothing feels better than a good foot massage. It’s the only thing I miss about my ex husband. The masseuse I saw yesterday asked about my stomach, since that’s the area that was tied up in my feet, but no. I did have cramps though. Same diff maybe?

  2. Boy are we becoming kindred spirits. First fellow canadians and now reflexology. I have completed my training and am hoping to start practicing after my move. If I can help in any way…I’m here. Good Luck 🙂

  3. I think that is really awesome that you are taking a course on this. I was wondering if they teach you what to look for in the foot? or if you rely on the persons complaints? I don’t know much about this (like many other things)

  4. i’ve never heard of reflexology.
    this looks so cool! i’m excited to learn more

    teddy

  5. This is a very cool thing that you’re doing! I don’t know much about it but I’m very much into the concept of non-traditional and non-Western medicines and healing. I’m really interested to see how your training proceeds and how you progress in your new career.

  6. I’m so happy for you! Thanks for such an informative post.

    I become aware of reflexology in 1995. I bought a few books on the subject. It is truly powerful! Oh please tell us how the course goes. That is something I plan to add with my ND degree!

  7. Hi Carrie, LOL…well, at least he was good at something. But you know, reflexology is so much more than a foot massage.

    Jamie, Thank you so much! I probably will be asking a ?? or maybe more!!!Kind of you to offer.

    Mandy,I think its a combo of both, you work on the pressure points in a person’s foot(or hand) that correspond with body parts. Of course what the person has to tell you factors into it.

    Teddy, Im excited too and I will keep you posted.

    Caroline, Ditto….also what Ive shared in emails too.

    VM, I am impressed,studying to be an ND, that is wonderful. Stay tuned for course updates.

    BFN, G 🙂

  8. @Geraldine,

    That is my end goal. Initially I will be getting my Natural Health Science degree before too long I’ll look back and think, “Where has the time gone?” I’m hoping our world will become more accepting to alternative therapies as time goes by. The future does look promising. 🙂

    I cannot wait to hear about your class. It’s going to be so much fun! 🙂

  9. That’s so very interesting. Thanks for the info. I hate my feet but maybe I should give them more thought. My left heel has been hurting a lot lately.

  10. PATRICIA KENWORTHY

    I’VE BEEN A PRACTICING REFLEXOLOGIST FOR 20 YEARS. IT’S THE MOST REWARDING CAREER I COULD HAVE CHOSEN. I LOVE PEOPLE. HAVING AN HOUR TO TALK AND SHARE WITH THEM WHILE MAKING THEM FEEL BETTER IS A GREAT WAY TO EARN A LIVING.
    I RARELY HAVE A PROBLEM WITH STINKY FEET. OCCASIONALLY PEOPLE HAVE “SHOE” OR “STOCKING” FEET AT THE END OF THE DAY. THESE PEOPLE ARE USUALLY HOT AND ENJOY HAVING THEIR FEET COOLED WITH A LITTLE WATERLESS HAND SANITIZER BEFORE I START. IT DRIES QUICKLY, LEAVES A SMOOTH FINISH FOR ME TO WORK WITH AND SMELLS FRESH. PROBLEM SOLVED!
    I AM TRAINED, AND CERTIFIED, IN THE ORIGINAL INGHAM COMPRESSION METHOD BY THE INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE OF REFLEXOLOGY.

  11. Dear VM, I can’t wait either, just a week to go, til the classes begin!:)

    Dear Kim, Ouch….you should take care of your feet (we all should) they do a LOT for us, every day.

    Dear Patricia,Thanks so much for stopping by and for your informative comment, very interesting. Sounds like reflexology has been a positive career choice for you. I hope I feel the same way, after my training, I know the merits of reflexology, that’s a given for me, Ive been there!

    BFN, Geraldine

  12. email friend Elaine

    Hi, I was treated to a session and just loved it. I can tell you that my feet have never been so clean, scrubbed and powdered and that was before the session. How do you ever find time for yourself with everything that you do for everyone else plus your writting and your mom. Hope you have a happy place.

Thanks so much for your comments!

