Zucchini and Cheddar Fettuccini

We are huge fans of zucchini dishes.  🙂

Everything from  naked cakes  to main dish casseroles, soups and in this case, pasta. I’ve even made this particular recipe for a TV demo and everything came out fine; that can be cooking under pressure!!!

This is a quick and delicious supper and a great way to use up some of the garden bounty.  In  the case of zucchini and tomatoes, there are usually more than enough to be enjoyed and in a short period of time. Great with a simple green salad or as in photo, yummy green beans. Enjoy.

  

 

ZUCCHINI  AND  CHEDDAR  FETTUCINI

Prepare it from start to table in 30 minutes or less. Serves 6 generously.

250 grams uncooked fettuccini or linguine noodles

2 T. olive oil

1 large onion, diced

3-4  cloves garlic, minced, to taste

4 medium zucchini, peeled and grated (see note below)

1 C. grated sharp Cheddar cheese or soy Cheddar

¾ C. light sour cream

3 T. chopped fresh basil (to taste)

½-1  teas. sea salt (opt.)

¼-1/2 teas. freshly-ground black pepper, to taste

In a large cooking pot of boiling, salted water, cook fettuccini noodles to desired tenderness (8-10 minutes).Rinse, drain and set aside.

 In the same pot (to save on cleanup time) heat oil over medium-high heat and sauté onions and garlic for 3-4 minutes, until slightly softened. Add grated zucchini and continue to sauté for 2 more minutes.   

 Reduce heat to low and add remaining ingredients, including pasta, stirring to combine. Heat through, just until cheese melts. Serve immediately.

Note: If using fresh, garden/organic zucchini, some of the peel can be left on to add color and crunch, just scrub them thoroughly, before using.

Reprinted from Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way, by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved. 

11 responses

  1. Tv demo? Talk about pressure! Looks like you did a great job. Congrats on your success..

    Teddy

  2. Oh I love zucchini and string beans! 🙂

  3. Oh yum, I just love zuchini, I’m going to have to try this.

  4. Oh, that looks yummy! But I need zucchini recipes that use bushels of zucchini at a whack. At least I will towards the end of summer when my neighbors start ducking me….

  5. no recipe with that? becuase that looks GOOD!

  6. crap. sorry. didn’t see the ‘more’

  7. Hmm, I’m going to have to “RAWgenize” this recipe! 😉
    Yes I just made up that word.

  8. Man, this looks and sounds delicious!

  9. Hi Teddy,Ive actually done quite a few TV interviews over the years but only cooked on air a couple of times, I really enjoyed it!
    Hi V. Momma, I don’t think it would be the same without the pasta and sauce…sorry, can’t raw em all!
    Hi Kim and Carrie, Hope you give this recipe a try…you will probably want to make it frequently Carrie (I hope) so should help with the green ‘pile’…
    Hi Dile…(I have to find your name on your blog?), It is delicious, quick and easy too….
    Thanks for stopping by, Happy Cooking and Blogging, G 🙂

  10. Wow! I wish I’d read this before I passed on the zucchini at the store this morning. It sound delicious..

  11. Fire~Fighter~Momma

    Wow… I never knew all the different things that could be made with zucchini. Needless to say, I’ve planted my very first garden this year, with 10 zucchini plants, and now I have the stuff coming out my ears. I’ve made zucchini bread, zucchini, cheese and garlic bake, and of course fried zucchini is a seasonal “Must have.” But I’ve been looking for something different to do with the stuff. Thank you so very much for sharing these recipes, as I’m sure I’ll be trying a majority of them. What’s for dinner tonight? Zucchini and cheddar fettuccini w/ fresh green beans and Naked cake for dessert…LOL

Thanks so much for your comments!

