Coconut-Cashew Rice Salad- 1st Prize Winner!

I am pleased to announce and share with you the First Prize winning entry in the 2006 NJFV Recipe Contest. Congratulations to Jessie Apfel of California for her winning recipe : Coconut-Cashew Rice Salad.  Jessie will receive a $50. Amazon.com gift certificate and 3 signed copies of Not Just for Vegetarians as her prize. As I have mentioned before with the other winning recipe posts, there were so many excellent recipes entered in the contest. It was tough to narrow it down to the finalists. To rise to the top and be chosen #1st, was even harder. But Jessie’s recipe won out and for several reasons. This is an easy but elegant salad. We also enjoyed it warm, as a light main course. Beautiful color, appealing texture, an intriguing and unusual blend of spices and flavors. Satisfying and delicious. Measurements were very accurate. Vegan-friendly was just another bonus.

Thanks Jessie for the wonderful recipe that I’m sure we will be enjoying for years to come. Hope you all try it too. If you like rice dishes with lots of flavor and spice and that look great too, you will love this recipe. 🙂

Coconut-cashew rice salad

Ingredients:1 cup rice
1 cup vegetable broth
1 cup coconut milk
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup carrot, finely chopped
1 cup zucchini, finely chopped
1/2 cup cashews, finely chopped
1/2 cup shredded coconut
Sauce:
1/2 cup yellow onion, chopped
1 cup tomato, chopped
2 tablespoons ginger, minced
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 teaspoon each: turmeric, ground cumin, cayenne, all-spice, garam masala
3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
salt to taste

Directions:

Place rice, broth, and coconut milk in a medium saucepan. bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer until rice absorbs liquid (about 20 minutes). set aside.

For sauce:  In a food processor,! puree the onion, tomato, and spices until smooth. Set aside.

Heat the oil on medium in a large saucepan. Add carrot and zucchini, cook 3-5 minutes. Add nuts and cook 2 minutes. Add sauce and cook 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, mix together rice and cashew mixture. Stir in the shredded coconut. Cover and place in the refrigerator for 1 hour before serving.

12 responses

  1. Congratulations to Jessie. It certainly looks wonderful. I’ll have to try it out.

  2. All of the contest recipes have looked so yummy!

    I like the new look of your blog!

  3. Thanks Beth…Im still playing around with the presentation options….Have a great day. G 🙂

  4. Hi! WOW! Presto-Chango, eh? Looks great!

    Thanks for the words on my blog! I added a little more within comments and while on a break posted again…teehee

  5. Congrats to Jessie!
    Looks great. I’m not a huge fan of Cashews so I might try this with some peanuts instead! : )

    Teddy

  6. Sleek new look to the site. This recipe looks great. 🙂

    FYI – in bloglines the text comes out v. light gray, not sure if it is the template end or the blogline end.

    About the sheep, yeah, it looked like it was a piercing…what will those crazy sheep do next?

    ~Heather

  7. I can see why that’s a winner. Looks great – especially for a hot day (it was 95 here today).

  8. The next time I visit my parents, I’ll make this for my mom (she’s East Indian). She will love it!!

  9. Hi there Dawn, Beth,Harmonia,Teddy, P.C. and Caroline….Thanks for stopping by. Glad you liked the recipe and the new look of my blog…Ive been playing around quite a bit with this today. Gotta get motivated and make the switch soon. I don’t know why Im dragging my a– on this, TypePad gives a 30 day trial, its not written in stone LOL..
    Anyways, Happy Cooking and Blogging and BFN, G 🙂

  10. Delicous sounding and very lovely on that elegant black plate. Did you run this contest or is there a website where I can check out all the entries/winners? I’m afraid I’ve been out of the loop…

    BTW, my cat, Jasmine, likes to help me in the kitchen. She especially likes batting around any veggie chunks that fall to the floor. She and Mitzi would be fast friends, I’m sure.

    http://mindycooks.blogspot.com

  11. Thanks for stopping by Mindy, I left a comment on your blog re: contest etc….maybe you can post a pic. of Jasmine on your blog…Im sure Mitz and other felines online would love to check her out.
    Have a great day, G 🙂

  12. This looks AMAZING!! I will definitely have to try this. Your blog is great, by the way!!

Thanks so much for your comments!

