Who Is This Mystery Woman?

  First of all,  no Amazon checking on this one, please….Who is this mystery woman, photo taken in 2003 ( or thereabouts ) ? I think ‘results’ like this take the term ‘plastic surgery’ to a whole new level. The sad part, I saw this same famous woman in a photo that must have been taken shortly before this, PRE- cut and stitch job and she looked good. Not 25 or even 35 but great for someone over 60 and still looking normal. I think this whole issue is just plain sad. Mary Tyler Moore, another case of a very nice looking woman who went crazy with trying to stay young; only to end up looking like a ‘freak’ for lack of a better word. There are so many stars, in the same category. Others, not as extreme but still trying to achieve the impossible, eternal youth.   So, take a guess and give your take on what drives famous people to go, ‘this far’ and to this extreme. Personally, I think they are headed in the wrong direction and in more ways than one

.

(sorry, photo no longer available- it was of Stephanie Powers)

9 responses

  1. I have no idea who that is. 🙂

    I think many in the spotlight feel that they need so stay young looking in order to keep landing roles. Men in the industry don’t seem to have the same requirements.

  2. Can’t even begin to guess, you;ve got me very curious. I don’t know…Ann Margret, maybe or Raquel Welch? No idea, do tell!

  3. Hi VM, I agree with you about landing roles, but at what cost, health and in terms of self-esteem. I think this kind of drastic surgery is a form of self-hate…I mean can you really like yourself and go this far???

    Hi C, You are on the right track but not those two stars….right age group though. This is a very famous lady and multi-talented too. Keep guessing!

    BFN, G 🙂

  4. Is it Stephanie Powers from Hart to Hart fame?
    As to why they cut and reshape…I have no clue. I am quite happy with the wrinkles I am developing…LOL But then in that industry people are a bit more under the microscope than me. It still feels that they are trying to be someone they aren’t though.

  5. Ah ha so it is Stephanie. I rarely have watched television even as a child so pretty clueless when it comes to stuff like this. I did “google” and I do see the resemblance.

    @Geraldine,
    I agree with you and personally I would not do it but in that type of industry where “young and beautiful” is the way to be, for women, it seems like so many go that route. I do become sad thinking what type of message this sends to women. I see it in certain sports. I see glimmers of it in Figure competition. I’ll be competiting at the end of this year or the beginning of next year. I don’t know about plastic surgery (then again that might be going on) but I’m seeing more and more breast implants. :-(.

  6. I believe it’s Stephanie Powers, wife of Robert Wagner. She replaced his former wife, Natalie Wood, when she went adrift off their yacht one day in the 60’s or 70s!
    Only in Hollywood!
    As for aging, I refuse to go under any knife. Would much rather use moisturizers or plain old virgin olive oil on my face, eat and sleep well and run up and down the stairs 10 times a day.
    I know one beautiful woman in her forties who can’t face her own wrinkles in the mirror. She has worked overtime every month for the past eight years to pay her plastic surgeon for every procedure possible. She’s had more needles stuck in her face than a pincushion. But, it’s her choice. She couldn’t convince me to go that route, however.
    I’m just going to try my best to age gracefully, and accept the pension cheques with glee!
    Best regards, Ger.

  7. Congrats Jamie and Vegan Momma, You are correct!! Hard to believe photo though…and as I said in the post, I did see Stephanie in a photo taken at a function, before this CD cover shot. She looked good and she looked like herself. This CD pic is just scary, in my opinion, she doesn’t even look real.

    Im all for staying as young-looking and beautiful as possible, but is this artificial glamour even beautiful, in any sense of the word. To me, healthy and vibrant are the traits of the truly beautiful, and sexy too…And lets hope there are more role models for young girls to admire, more along those lines. Meryl Streep and Susan Sarandon come to mind. They look really good and are certainly busy in their acting careers. Beautiful and real looking too.
    Any other names??? I know i should be able to come up with more.

    Thanks for stopping by, Have a great day! G 🙂

  8. Heh Kath, My comment must have slid in right after yours, it wasn’t there when I started typing. Thanks for stopping by. I didn’t think that Stephanie was ever married to Robert Wagner (except on TV) anyone else out there, with the scoop on this?

    I totally agree with your comments. I dont think this is beautiful at all. And Stephanie Powers was gorgeous in her TV days and even later on….

    Your friend in her 40’s with the pincushion face, how does she actually look?

    Hope you are feeling much better. BFN, G 🙂

  9. Ew. Stephanie Powers huh? I would have never recognized her.

    The reason that start do plastic surgery is that they can afford it. You bet your a$$ that if insurance covered plastic surgery and/or it were more affordable, that more women would get it done, not just famous people. There would still be holdouts such as obviously the people on this blogthread, but there would be a lot of plastic people walking around.

Thanks so much for your comments!

