Blog/Site of the Week: Meatless Monday

 We are becoming a nation of informed and more-discriminating shoppers. In the case of our food choices, this can be essential in impacting our long-term health. More and more people are looking for simple but effective ways to improve their diets and also for their families.

 I am encouraged to see people of all ages, reading labels in the grocery stores these days and hoorah for the fact that there are now detailed ingredient lists to read. Let’s hope it stays that way. No longer is it enough to turn out a ‘good-tasting’ , nicely packaged product. Consumers are demanding better and every time a chemically-laden ‘food’ product is left on the shelf, the good choices will increase. Witness the decline of the food giant Kraft who recently laid-off 8000 of it’s workers. When I was growing up, Kraft and General Foods were the companies that supplied all the ‘treats’, or at least so we thought then. I shudder to think of how many glasses of Kool-Aid I’ve downed…..and how much Jello I scooped up!!! Remember Velveeta? Scary stuff!!!

But I digress, as I often do….LOL. In keeping with making better food choices, many people are also looking at cutting down on their meat-consumption and for a number of reasons: reducing saturated fats and in turn reducing the risk of heart disease, cancer and strokes, being more environmentally responsible, high costs…. the list goes on and on.

Enter Meatless Monday. No it is NOT a vegetarian site, but it is all about making wiser food choices and having fun doing it. This excellent site promotes the challenge to give up meat for one day of the week. Try some new recipes and expand what you think your family will actually enjoy for dinner, you might be pleasantly surprised. It’s all about choices and variety and not just sticking with the old family favorites.

Meal Planning, Contests,Chili Monday,  informative newsletters and related health articles, along with oodles of delicious new recipes to try.  I was honored to have my cookbook, Not Just for Vegetarians featured for their Meatless Delights promotion in December 2005. I continue to look forward to receiving my newsletters from Meatless Monday, always a fun and informative read. If you are looking for ways to cut down on your meat consumption for one day or every day of the week, this is a site you won’t want to miss.  

For more info. and to sign up for their newsletter, check out: Meatless Monday 

10 responses

  1. As a vegetarian for a L-O-N-G time, this seems like a no brainer…but, it did make me think about all the people that this would be a challenge for. What a great idea! Looks like quite a few ‘painless’ ideas to cut down on the meat choices in your life.

  2. I am always happy when I see people reading labels in stores. I have not been to the Meatless Monday website in a while. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Blessings!

  3. Well I’m not a vegetarian, although I wish to eat alot healthier than we do now, meaning more veggies’ (my kids always eat them at school when I’m never there to witness this act LOL) The hubby on the other hand, this challenge might not be so easy. That is one of my goals for the year was to start to live healthier.

  4. I’m starving!! Meatless?? I feel like sushi… doesn’t mean I’ll actually have sushi. Heh.

    I think I’ll have some red lentil soup. YUM!

  5. Hi to PC, VM, Mandy and Zee, Thanks for stopping by. What I like about Meatless Monday is that they are making suggestions that are workable for any one or any family, no matter what diet preferences are. Trying new recipes, going vegan or vegetarian for one day a week shouldn’t be too hard for anyone and it is a step in the right direction. When they talk about the average American eating 220 of MEAT in a year, I just find that incredible, and not in a good way. That’s why I wrote my cookbook too, to get meat-eaters to think about making choices, not just the usually meat/potatoes routine, hence the name, Not Just for Vegetarians, hearty home-style fare. Meatless Monday also provides a lot of choices in recipes, again for a range of food preferences and not just vegetarians. Happy Cooking.
    BFN, G 🙂

  6. PS Oops, that should read 220 pounds (of meat). Amazing but apparently true.

  7. I didn’t know that about 220# of meat. that makes me sick. (and I’m not even a veg.) the other day, Curt (who is a veg.) was trying to buy local food and he bought some marinara sauce that was packaged by a local restaurant. He kept saying how much he liked it but I had a funny feeling about, finally I looked at the ingredients and though it’s plain marinara sauce it has stuff called “porkbase,” “beefbase,” etc. WTF? How gross is THAT?

  8. Hi Caroline…..Really Gross indeed….Funny what they slip into food products isn’t it? Vegan and vegetarian products (you would expect) should contain healthier, more natural ingredients, but that certainly isn’t always the case. One example is soy cheese slices, the brands Ive looked at are ‘junkier’ than Kraft cheese slices. Hopefully the ingredient lists are here to stay, I believe I read somewhere that they might be on the way out in the US, anyone sure on this point??? G.

  9. Let me know what you thought of the sample. I thought it was very interesting. Something I could get used to at night while winding down. I just posted another tea as you were commenting. I hope to post more things later.

    You’re comment made my day! Hope to see you again soon!

  10. What a great site, Geraldine – thanks for sharing. I’m going to blog it too. 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

