A Gorgeous Summer Sweater

(sorry photo no longer available)

I must be the only knitter in cyberspace who hadn’t heard of knitty.com,  it is one busy cyberplace for knitters and crocheters! Thanks to my friend Elaine for letting me know about this wonderful site/blog, where I found this beautiful ballet wrap-style cardigan pattern. 

I have also been in touch with the talented designer of this pattern Rebecca Hatcher, who was happy to have her work shared with Veggie…readers/knitters to enjoy.

I absolutely LOVE  this sweater! Traditional yet contemporary. Feminine but not frilly. Easy and concise instructions. And just enough of a sweater in summer to ward off the chill of a late evening breeze or over-zealous air conditioning. Rebecca is hoping to add more designs to her collection and is also considering starting a blog soon. Hopefully she will, I have a feeling this is a talented designer we will be hearing more from. Thanks Rebecca, for one yummy cardigan!

Check out the complete pattern at: Otis by Rebecca Hatcher

5 responses

  1. Yes, this sweater is very lovely and feminine without being over frilly. I love knitty.com but a lot of stuff on there is beyond my realm of experience so far. I’ve never made a sweater before, but I’m taking a class next month on how to make a summer shell (sans sleeves!). One day I’ll tackle a sleeve! I’m printing out this pattern for my “one day I’ll knit this” collection. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  2. You did a great job on your felted tote/purse Kim. Getting the tension consistent and accurate is key to being a good knitter. The rest will follow, including sleeves and so on and so on……what a great, relaxing hobby.
    Although Ive been knitting and crocheting for a long time, I still prefer patterns that aren’t TOO complicated, I want to relax not to fuss over every stitch worked. This sweater really appealed to me, hope I get the time to make it…still working on Joe’s cardigan at present and need to sew up my Sally sweater….on top of everything else!!!

    BFN, G 🙂

  3. That is a beautiful sweater. Looks light, too. 🙂

  4. Hi Geraldine,

    I finally remembered to look for this post, and look more thoroughly at the rets of your site. The recipes in your other posts look delicious! (I’m a vegetarian too.) I’ll have to track down your cookbook.

    Rebecca

  5. Thanks for stopping by Rebecca. I can’t wait to make your gorgeous sweater, it is just lovely.

    Glad you liked the recipes (quite a few in archives too) my cookbook is available in US on Amazon.com if you want to purchase one.

    Cheers and BFN, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

