Summer Reads: Beachcombing at Miramar

 

 

Thought I would share another one of my favorite ‘summer reads’…. this time, a non-fiction masterpiece, Beachcombing at Miramar by Richard Bode.

I bought this book several years ago and after reading it once, proceeded to buy numerous copies to give away ( and immediately! ) as gifts, I was that impressed. One friend carried this book around in her purse for weeks. When she needed a ‘stress break’ she would pull it out to enjoy a peaceful page or two. Another friend stayed up all night, not able to put the book down until the last page was enjoyed. I can relate, it really is  that good.

This (for me) was a life-changing book and one that touched me deeply.  The story of Richard Bode’s move from the rat race to a peaceful and contemplative life on a California beach at Miramar. A dream that for most people remains just that. Bode went for it, gave up a high-paying job, left behind the life he had always known (including a marriage that wasn’t working any more) to find himself and to live out his dream of a life filled with meaningful and one- of- a -kind days.

Beautifully written, this is a book you will never forget.A rare glimpse and chance to share an extraordinary journey along with Richard Bode. Another one I highly recommend to add to your summer reading list. In case you haven’t read it already.

4 responses

  1. Thanks for the tip! I’m looking forward to some good summer reading.

  2. Hi Beth, You are welcome. Do you have any favorite ‘summer’ books???
    Have a great day, G. 🙂

  3. None that I can really think of, but I did just check Wicked out of the library. Apparently a lot of people are reading that because I was 81 in line when I reserved it.

  4. Hi Geraldine
    thanks for stopping by my blog! It’s funny that you should post about summer reading b/c last night I was trying to come up with something for a book club my friend and i are starting. The first month will be the ‘the devil wears prada’. Looks like we’ll be adding this one to the list as well. Thanks!
    See you later.
    Teddy

Thanks so much for your comments!

