My Coming of Age

  

                              

What does it really mean to ‘grow up’ especially in terms of our appearance ? I don’t know about most of the visitors to my blog ( the women in this case) but it took me a LONG time to like myself and how I look on a daily basis, without the makeup and hair done just right (or at least aiming for ‘just right’).

This candid photo was taken a few weeks ago by Joe. I don’t have a stitch of makeup on, neither does Mitzi LOL… And I actually LIKE this photo (so does my darling Joe, bless him )…It ain’t glamorous, I have looked better…. but it’s what this photo represents that is most important to me. To quote an advertising favorite, ‘you’ve come a long way baby’.

Being able to share this photo with all of you, to actually like this photo.. yes, I have come a long way. In my younger days, I wouldn’t have taken the garbage out without doing my hair and having at least some ‘paint’ on; NO WAY would I have allowed a photo to be taken. Perhaps it’s as the French say it so well, ‘to be comfortable and happy in one’s own skin’ (or close to that). I am now, and there is a satisfaction and peace that comes along with it.

Yes, I still love to ‘glam it up’ when the time is right. I’d also like to knock off a few stubborn pounds around the middle, but I’m working on that too. I feel healthy and vibrant (most days!!) and my definition of anyone looking good these days is more about those qualities than anything else .

Most of all, I am happy to finally be able to love myself for who I am. Even how I look. To appreciate the good things about ME that I am proud of and happy to be, on the inside and out. I am glad to feel I have grown up and grown into who I was meant to be….It took a while but I guess that’s an accomplishment in itself and one that a lot of people never seem to get to or enjoy.

My coming of age….better late than never.

 

39 responses

  1. congrats! That is a big step for us ladies to take….like ourselves inside and out. I personally think it has something to do with age. As I get older I care less about what others think and more about how I feel about myself.

  2. It is a big step, one which isn’t easy, but getting there is such a blessing! Congratulations, G!

    I’m happy with who I am, inside and out, and also with where I am in my life. When focusing on myself I think more about healthy and fit. Sure, there’s still a couple of pounds I’d like to drop, and perhaps I’m not as toned as I wish, but it doesn’t preoccupy my thoughts. I’m happy all around.

    Still, pictures of myself are not very high up on the list (which is food for thought), and the fact I’m usually behind the camera doesn’t help either. I prefer shooting beauty elsewhere anyway, LOL!

  3. Ah, it’s good to put a face with your blog-voice. And your face reflects your inner peace and & satisfaction with your life and who you are. You should feel be proud, you HAVE come a long way!

  4. Dear Jamie, Zaida and Caroline, Thanks for your comments and kind words…I debated about doing this post but Im glad I did, I think a lot of women can relate, at least I hope so.

    Jamie: Good point about not caring as much about what other’s think…Im still working on that one.

    Zaida/Zee, As always so nice to hear from you, and for your nice comments about me looking good in your email…thanks for ALL your positive feedback.

    Caroline, That’s how I feel too, I would like to put faces to my blog friends, now you’ve seen me, scrubbed clean LOL….Thanks re: the inner peace, its not always there but I hope it will be more often and soon. Im trying!

    BFN, G 🙂

  5. I LOVED LOVED LOVED this post. So intimate. This is a beautiful photo of you (and Mitzi!) and you look so serene and comfortable. I love it when writers post photos of themselves and their families and their homes in their blogs. I myself am not that comfortable yet, but I’m working on it! I applaud you for posting this intimate photograph of yourself and celebrating YOU.

  6. Thank you so much Kim, for all your kind words and compliments. As I said in my previous comment, I debated about doing this post but I really wanted to express these feelings and also to find the ‘nerve’ to ‘bare it all’ LOL….in the photo….I know I wouldn’t have a few years ago.

    I LOVE stopping by Carolina Purl. I think it’s cool when you post photos with shades on…..when/if the time is right for you, perhaps you will show up one day sans shades. Either way, you’ve had some terrific posts and I look forward to more …… Have a great day. BFN, G 🙂

  7. Geraldine, that is a very nice picture! I posted a picture on my blog a while back, and it was hard for me to do. Funny, by my everyday appearance one would think I don’t care how I look, but I do. I guess I just don’t care enough to do much about it. 🙂 I know that my family and friends love me for who I am, not how I look. That’s a precious gift!

  8. Thanks Beth….As I said in a previous comment, it is nice to put a face to a blogfriend, I will have to go over to Felt….and check your pic. out!

    Thanks for stopping by. G 🙂

  9. You are beautiful. You are definitely at peace. 🙂

  10. Thinking about this post some more, I think you should make a static “About Me” page and put this pic on it. This is your thousand words, as they say.

    Something is going on with “Turdpress” on my end, as I’ve begun to call it….it’s doing something funny to your last two comments. Now I can’t see them, and in the sidebar it’s saying they’re made to “test posts” not the actual posts. But anyway, I know you made some comments, thanks for visiting EFG!

  11. Hi C….I noticed that too, tres weird, I didn’t think you had deleted my witty tidbits LOL…Im glad they aren’t sending that particular pain in the ….my way so far. What I don’t like about wordpress is how the text can move on its own, when trying to do a new post, that one drives me crazy, I think Im all finished, then all the lines are running together.

    I would actually like to separate the pages, Home etc…not sure how to do this I don’t want to lose my pages, also About, adding photo, good idea
    but I might hold off with more of these changes until I switch to my new blog. Have been trying to find out if I can import my archives to TypePad, so far, no definite answer from the blog gods….
    Thanks for stopping by, G. 🙂

  12. Oh, now I see you do have an about, it’s at the bottom of the bar. Yeah, maybe when you make the “switch” you can have more features, more pages if you want. As of this minute your comments have been restored on EFG, but they seem to be coming and going so who knows what the problem is.

  13. Maybe we should start our own blog hosting service…what do you think Caroline??? We know all the ‘bugs’ to work out, after our WP adventures, what do you think??? Nah, maybe not, wouldn’t have time for the good stuff, like cooking and gardening and reading and blogging and knitting etc…….LOL
    Ive been on this computer too long already I think!
    BFN, G 🙂

  14. What a wonderful post! I’ve been trying to be more *comfortable* (dress, in my skin) and not wearing “paint”. It’s a terrific feeling when you look in the mirror and realize you are beautiful just the way you are (and what a relief not to have to stress about it so much)!

    You and Mitzi are beautiful!

  15. I love this photo of my two beautiful girls.

  16. email friend Elaine

    Geraldine I have watched and listened to you since you first started your blog. I remember how anxious you were about starting it. Your integrity and sincerity
    has come shining through. The picture of you and Mitzi is such a telling picture, peaceful and confident. Your blog has given you the venue you needed to help you live with your stress. Congratulations, please give Mitzi and yourself a big hug.

  17. Dear Joe, Thanks for being so sweet, always. Huggs, G and M 🙂

    Dear Elaine, Thanks for your kind words, compliments and encouragement, very much appreciated. Yes, blogging has been great, for more reasons than I expected. Part of the fun is ‘meeting’ so many interesting people along the way. Hope you will continue to stop by. Hugggs, G and M. 🙂

    PS Mitzi meows….thanks humans!!!

  18. Geraldine,

    This beautiful post brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for sharing your wisdom and joy, and for inspiring me to continue growing and learning to appreciate myself for who I am. Joe and Mitzi are very lucky to have you in their lives!

  19. Hi there Tania, Your comment almost brought tears to my eyes! Thank you so much, appreciate your kind words very much. You are a very talented and caring person ( I can tell from reading your blog) all the people who share your life are very lucky too!!!

    BFN, G 🙂

  20. Terrific coming of age…and I think we only get there by coming of age. How long we keep that teenage image of I’m not _____. Have you see the poem “When I’m an Old Woman, I shall wear purple…” written by Jenny Joseph. It’s beautiful and so are you!

  21. Terrific coming of age…and I think we only get there by coming of age. How long we keep that teenage image of I’m not _____. Have you see the poem “When I’m an Old Woman, I shall wear purple…” written by Jenny Joseph. It’s beautiful and so are you!

  22. Hi Tanna,Thank you for your kind words. I located the poem you referred to, thought I would share it with Veggie…readers. Some thoughts to ponder, about being wise and free enough to be just ME, that’s for sure. BFN, G 🙂
    PS I love the word wisdom…..covers a lot of ground. Here’s the poem:

    Warning

    When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandles, and say we’ve no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
    And run my stick along the public railings
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
    And learn to spit.

    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
    Or only bread and pickle for a week
    And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street
    And set a good example for the children.
    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

    But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

    Jenny Joseph

  23. funny how what really matters isn’t somthing you can buy or really can get outside of yourself. A simple concept that is hard, for many, to get! Great pic & great message!

    ~Heather

  24. This post really touches me. I just just turned 50. Although sometimes I’m a bit sad for lost youthful looks, so many types of outfits and make-up I’ll never look good in again, the energy to literally chase tots around, etc., really, it’s been an amazing gift to finally simply be and love who I am. Our aging bodies tell the most beautiful stories! Thank you.

  25. Oh and just so you know my picture is outdated by I think 3 years–so time to update with my Coming of Age face!

  26. Hi Tanna, Long overdue to thank you for your kind words. You are beautiful too! I hope you enjoy the poem.

    Hi Heather,So true, you’ve nailed it!

    Hi PoetGranny, I actually don’t feel different than the person I was in my 30’s and beyond. It’s all about perspective I believe and being well. I know people in their 20’s who are already “old” and others in their 70’s and 80’s who are still young. It’s really a personal and relative process.

    Hugs to all of you and here’s to being the best we can be, at every age in our lives, G

  27. Ah, loved this post!
    Bravo, beautiful lady!

    Margie x

  28. so lovely that you have found peace and joy in who you are, a inspiration to all. this is a beautiful photo of you!

  29. What a wonderful share, good for you girl, you look fabulous! I think I have become of age too! Nothing I brag about, it seems that all of a sudden one day I looked into the mirror and saw that I had changed, Tom said it was because I had been sick for a couple of months and I would bounce back, wasn’t that sweet of him! It hard for me to face some truths, You read my butterfly story, it is also hard for me to share, yes I write my stories and they are straight from the heart… but I still hold back, I just put a picture of me on my blog at the right, not a big picture… but all the same I am still coming out and look at the wonderful people I am meeting, I look forwards to a wonderful relationship with you, I count you as one of my new friends, we are still getting to know each other, isn’t that fun. Come on by sometime and we will eat mini espresso cupcaked my treat….RaeDi

  30. I would like to comment again… you look beautiful and since the couple of months I too know that your beauty within is more than skin deep…. that inside the spirit beauty is what lights our world and you help to give light where ever you go… I have a summer cold… I came to the address you left on the comment about my hummers and did not know where to go… the cold is blocking all messages! Would love to see the picture you spoke of in the comment and yes we are neighbors… I think you live in BC? Just north of here! I’ll be back when I am feeling a little better! Take care…. RaeDi

  31. A beautiful, wise post from a radiant woman. It seems the older we get the more the true essence of one’s spirit comes through.

  32. Hi Margie, And bravo back to a beautiful woman!

    Hi Tammie, Thank you for your kind words friend.

    Hi Rachael, Your comments touched me. I came back to this post tonight and noted the comments I hadn’t read previously. I’m so glad I did. I’m sorry you’ve had health problems. It can certainly take it’s toil but yes, we can bounce back. We have to keep trying, even when we don’t feel like making the effort. I hope you are coming back to blogging soon and that life has been treating you well, while you’ve been away from your blog. You have been missed.

    Hi Seedbud, LOVE your blog name and thanks for a lovely comment.

    So glad I could read these tonight. Made my day! Hugs, G

  33. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    ANYONE WHO LOVES A PUSSY CAT IS ALREADY AWESOME…AND THEN SOME!!!!!

  34. I loved your blog and from time to time I may “borrow” one of your recipes as an example for Proper Nutrition (but only with your permission).

    You have always been who you were meant to be at any given moment. In my case, I often refer to my current appearance as “battle scars.” I’ve earned every one of them and I wouldn’t trade off any one of them. My brain says I’m still 35 or so, which can become problematic when I start to act like I believe it.

    One of my favorite creations was the line “Aging is the price we all pay for wisdom. Those who can’t handle this are the ones who pay the same price for bitterness and sadness.

  35. Thanks for liking a post geokult-travel.com. Your blog looks great so am following back 🙂
    Cheers
    Tracey

  36. You’re so nice Jonathan, thank you! 🙂

    Welcome “What If…” and thanks for your thoughtful comment here.

    I think aging is what we make it. I believe that the choices we make along the way are crucial to aging successfully and happily. I agree, being bitter about getting older serve no good purpose.

    And yes, do let me know if you’d like to share any recipes/photos…. But links only from this or my other blogs are ok (with credits) at any time, without further permission.

    Nice to have you stop by too Tracey and thanks for the kind words and following too!

    Happy Week, G

  37. I’m on my way! Wearing less makeup and feeling okay about it. Wearing clothes that I feel good in and to hell with what anyone else thinks. I recently posted a pic of myself on facebook after just coming out of the shower (head and shoulders only) and the comments were sweet. One fellow said he had never noticed my beautiful eyes before (they used to be “enhanced” with eyeliner and mascara) – that taught me something!

  38. Geraldine – thanks for stopping by my blog and liking something as well as following it. Congrats on your coming to grips with the appearance thing. I am guessing that is more of a female thing than male. As an old retired guy, I love being utterly ignorant of fashion and also immune to criticism. I always answer, that I wear ‘retired guy’ outfits which means exactly what I was feeling like when I got dressed that morning. I am also enjoying my visit to your blog. Keep up the good work!

  39. Hi Geraldine,
    I think I should have read this post much earlier and put my comments. Sorry, I am late, yet it will make me feel good, to say this post is a wonderful expression of how you feel from within and connects directly to my within!
    Let me add, you are beautiful and glowing!!

Thanks so much for your comments!

