Summer’s Lease by John Mortimer

 Warm weather reading (at the beach, park, backyard…) is still not a reality here on the Prairies and probably won’t be for quite a while.

Lucky you if you are already enjoying these days comfortably reclined in the sun, settling in for a good read, perhaps accompanied by some icy lemonade and a warm breeze…..sounds good to me.

 In spite of our lack of outdoor heat so far, I started to think about some of my fav. ‘summer’ books today. Any avid reader knows, there is definitely a type of book that fits that particular genre. A book that may be a good read anytime of year, but it’s just not the same as reading it in the summer. Can you relate?

One of my all-time favorite summer novels is John Mortimer’s, Summer Lease. I’ve probably read this book for the last 5 or more…summers and if I can hunt it down in the box jungle that has overtaken the basement, I will probably enjoy it again this year. 

This is a travel journal of an English family. Mother Molly deciding to respond to a rather cryptic  newspaper ad, rents a house in Tuscany for the summer and so begins the tale… As one reviewer on Amazon so aptly put it, ” A delicious Italian dish; sun-drenched and garlic-scented novel” .

I won’t spoil the story…if you are looking for a fun, entertaining and well-written summer novel with a touch of suspense, romance regained and strange water-shortages abounding .. you may want to give this one a try. I’m looking forward to another visit to Tuscany this summer, if I can just get Joe to find the ‘right’  book box . 🙂 What is your favorite(s) summer read?

6 responses

  1. I just edited your name on the blogroll…no prob! 🙂 Thanks for your comments…do you have a website for that product you mentioned in comments? Let me know.

  2. Hi Harmonia, I haven’t checked their site yet, Im reading from the bottle LOL here goes…www.lamasbeauty.com and its called Pumpkin Spice Polish.The fragrance is soft but really smells like pumpkin, I LOVE pumpkin! No residue either, not like the BB stuff. BFN 🙂

  3. This book sounds great–I’ll definitely check it out. I loved “Under the Tuscan Sun.” In the summer I spend a lot of time at the beach and I love reading books with stories set by the water. Some favorites that come to mind are Joanne Harris’ “Coastliners” (set in France), Jill McCorkle’s “Carolina Moon” (set in North Carolina), and Elinor Lippmann’s “Isabel’s Bed” (set in New England). Pat Conroy’s “Prince of Tides” (set in South Carolina lowcountry) is also one of my favorite books. Summer will be here before you know it!!

  4. Hi Kim, Thanks for the recommended summer reading…I agree, settings by the water are definitely a part of it. Carolina Moon sounds familiar, may have read this one, I’ve read so many books over the years, with similiar titles, hard to remember them all. Summer’s Lease is a keeper though…I have a lot of books that I just can’t part with, makes for ‘heavy moves’ though Had too many of those already….LOL.
    BFN, G 🙂

  5. WOW! That site is wonderful! So much to look into…that is for sure! I just might have to make a purchase in a few weeks! I’m glad we blogging buddies now too! I am still jealous of your layout, though. LOL

  6. Thanks for stopping by new buddy, Yes Lamas has some great stuff, and it really is nice to use, not heavily-scented, not alot of junk (if any) added, at least in the 3 products Ive tried so far….I love your blog, great posts, many of my interests included, I look forward to stopping by,every day. My only problem is, Im becoming a blog addict…A friend in the blogland said on the phone this morning that she doesn’t blog on the weekend, no exceptions, I guess that would help with the guilt of blogging too much M-F LOL…
    Have a great weekend, G 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

