Ginger Pear and Pasta Slaw- winning recipe

 

Starting this week, Veggies….will be featuring the prize winning recipes from the 2006 NFJV recipe contest. There were so many excellent recipes to pick from, it was difficult to make the final choices. Finally narrowed it down to the 5 winning entries.

Today's recipe is from Roxanne Chan, California. Roxanne was chosen for an Honorable Mention and will receive a signed copy of Not Just for Vegetarians as a prize.

This salad is delicious, easy to make, with an interesting blend of colors and flavors. As I have said many times before, I think recipes should not only taste good, they need to look great too. This one certainly is a winner and on both counts. Thanks Roxanne !

Ginger Pear and Pasta Slaw
 
  8 ounces whole wheat Rotini Pasta
 16 ounces coleslaw mix
 2 large firm but ripe pears, cut into thin slices
 1/4 cup diced red onion
 1/4 cup sliced celery
 1/4 cup slivered crystallized ginger
 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
 1/4 cup chopped parsley
 1/2 cup reduced fat mayonnaise
 1/2 cup plain yogurt
 1 tsp minced ginger root
 1 Tbsp frozen orange juice concentrate, thawed
 1 clove garlic, crushed
 1 Tbsp poppy seeds
 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper
 2 Tbsp dried currants
 1/2 tsp orange zest
 
Cook the pasta according to package directions; drain. Place in a large 
mixing bowl along with the next 7 ingredients. In a small bowl combine 
the rest of the ingredients; mix well. Toss the slaw with the dressing 
to evenly coat. Serves 6
 

9 responses

  1. Hi Geraldine. Inquiring minds want to know… what is NFJV and how can we learn more about it? Couldn’t agree more about the visuals of our food being super important. Let’s all slow down and actually notice the variety of colors and shapes and textures on our plates; let’s inhale those aromas. Let’s S-A-V-O-R the M-O-M-E-N-T with friends and family. Thanks for a great blog. We are kindred spirits, for sure. I’ll have to post a photo of my cast, Jasmine, one of these days…

    http://mindcooks.blogspot.com

  2. Oops, I meant a photo of my CAT. I’m a cook, not a filmmaker!

  3. Hi Mindy and thanks for stopping by. Really enjoyed your blog today too.
    If you scroll down the page a bit, you will find out what NJFV is all about LOL….my cookbook and recipes from it, featured on this blog too. Hope you check it out and I look forward to visiting on your blog (and you stopping by) again soon.

    Mitzi is looking forward to the cat photo….again, more info. on the Mitz, scrolling down page 1.

    BFN, 🙂

  4. This looks like a great recipe! I always marvel and how people who make up recipes come up with this stuff. Just curious, can you recommend a subsitute for parsley (if, for ex., there is a picky member of one’s family that absolutely hates it?) I can always leave it out but just wondering if there was a substitute you could think of.

  5. Hi Caroline, This is a great salad recipe…and very easy to make. I would probably just leave out the parsley, or add a bit more celery or carrot, for the ‘color’ factor LOL…Considering the mild taste of parsley, Im surprised that anyone actually hates it. Now cilantro, that’s another story…I HATE cilantro, taste AND smell of it. Have been able to deal with a bit, if mixed with other foods, lately, but I do not add it to anything myself and certainly remove as a garnish LOL….BFN, Geraldine

  6. I love cilantro and I don’t care one way or the other about parsley. Curt however, hates it. (even though he loves cilantro. So strange.) We have a friend who calls him a “parsley bigot.” I guess that makes you a cilantro bigot! 🙂

  7. Aaaugh….but is there a I Hate Parsley site??? There is one for cilantro haters, and with quite a loyal following it appears. Don’t have the link handy, but was on the “Eat Air….” blogroll (site link definitely worth a click). I usually stop by to see what’s cooking over there, at least once a day. Actually, I do a lot more clicking these days than I did a couple of months ago. Blogging is addictive, no one told me before I started Veggies…but it is. Do you agree???
    G 🙂

  8. Oh, I definitely agree. It’s 11:30 pm and I’m reading your blog! Sheesh.

  9. Thanks for picking mine to read so late!!! Its only 9:30 here ( SNOW in the forecast, boo hoooo, I was right!) actually 11:30 isn’t so late, we are night owls, 2:30 a.m., now that IS late. Got lots of time to surf still, maybe not, haven’t had supper yet, Joe is on his way home,Im glad……, I digress….

    The Mitz just did a post so you might want to alert the feline readers in your house to check it out.

    Good night to Caroline, Curt and the Kitties, always glad you stop by. I just did a bit earlier to EFG.

    BFN, NOT a Garden Geekess but a Veggie Cook anyways!!!

Thanks so much for your comments!

