Book Review: Blogging for Dummies

blog book.jpg   As I have mentioned in a couple of posts, I am no techie, never have been, don't wanna be. But let's face it, to join the wacky world of blogging, you do need to know a few of the basics. I have been lucky to get some help along the way from friends and associates with a lot more blogging savvy than I have. Really helpful but at the same time, what to do at 3 AM, on the computer, can't sleep and wondering what the heck an RSS feed, really is???

Enter, Blogging for Dummies by Brad Hill. This is a terrific, easy, FUN to read and even more important easy to understand, introduction to the world of blogging. Brad Hill has done a great job of bringing blog-speak to a level that even the most techno-challenged (that's me!) can learn from and use.

Included in the book are chapters on the various blog hosting services: good old WordPress, Blogger, TypePad, Moveable Type…etc. Also covered, blogging etiquette (yes, there is such a thing), blogging for profit, plug-ins, RSS feeds and much more.

This has proven to be a valuable resource book for me. With my new blog in the works, I am once again accessing the information from this book, helping me to decide which hosting service etc, I should be looking at, as I 'step it up a notch' and hopefully soon.

I highly recommend this book. I did look at several that are available on the topic but none seemed as user-friendly as this one. I would  also expect that updated versions will continue to become available as the blogosphere continues to evolve, just like everything else on the Web.

For more information about the book check out the Dummies page at:   Blogging…. 

4 responses

  1. Thank you for the review! I am putting this on my amazon.com wish list as we speak!
    Head scritches to Mitzi!
    (((hugs)))

  2. Thanks for stopping by. Mitz sends a headbonk to Meezer!!!
    BFN, 🙂

  3. I’ve been bumbling along since starting my blog last fall, not really knowing what I’m doing with html codes and plug-ins and stuff. It’s all been trial-and-error, with generous help from my computer-savvy nephew … I’ve been thinking about investing in a book as my blog evolves, and this one sounds exactly like what I need! Thanks for sharing your review of it!

  4. Hi Tania, Sounds like you are further along in Blogland than Ive been ! This is a very NON-techie basic,kind of book, written in plain english and as I said in the post, most of it, I can actually follow along and understand. HTML and page optimization yada, yada…the next frontiers to conquer.You may want to check out the link to the Dummies page, there is quite a bit more info. about the book and what it includes. For me, it was the right choice at this point but does the learning online ever end LOL! Hope all is well,
    Happy Cooking and Blogging and BFN 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

