All things Hemp…

  hemp plant.gif   I have always been fascinated by the versatility and potential of industrial hemp . Harvested for its fibers and oil, this amazing plant can then be transformed into beautiful long-wearing fabric, yarns, paper, cosmetics, natural remedies and of course food products. With a relatively short growth cycle of 100-120 days, it is an efficient and economical crop for farmers to grow, however, industrial hemp cannot be commercially grown in the United States because it is erroneously confounded with marijuana. Smoking large amounts of hemp flowers can produce a headache but not a high! Native to Asia, it is  grown commercially (with government regulation) in Canada and other countries. I have not personally knit or crochet with yarns made from hemp but I would like to hear from anyone who has. I have used hemp oil and flour in cooking, with mixed reviews. 🙂  I look forward to hear about your own experiences (knitting, sewing, cooking…..) using this amazing plant.  I  found a number of sites online, featuring products made from hemp. For more info. check out the links below and many more online…it continues to be a timely topic of interest. Mama’s Earth Hemp.com Hemp info. and history

9 responses

  1. I have always liked hemp. Can you recommend how to books or website on knitting? I used to knit when I was young, around 12. I “attempted” to knit last weekend but I have forgotten. The “how to” instructions I printed from an online website did not help me at all, lol.

  2. Hello VM…Glad you stopped by. Its been such a long time since I learned how to knit and crochet!!! Im left-handed so I was having a hard time following what right-handed friends were showing me ‘how to’… it all looked backwards to me.

    I agree, a lot of the books with instructions how to knit and crochet are VERY confusing. I would suggest Debbie Stoller’s Stitch and Bitch knit books and the Happy Hooker for crochet…the instructions are straight-forward to follow even fun (eg a knit stitch is wearing a collar hahaha…stuff like that) to help to remember while you are learning. Definitely worth checking out.
    Really enjoyed your blog too. BFN 🙂

  3. PS You could also check out the April newsletter for Ram Wools (site link-yarn patterns) just received a copy today. Some good tips for new knitters included. Also a Freedom Sweater to use up leftover yarn. Hope this is helpful too. G.

  4. Thank you so much! I am ordering them.

  5. You are very welcome.Hope you and your family enjoy the recipes too. BFN 🙂

  6. Hello – Just wanted to add a few comments about using hemp yarn. Hemp Traders and Hemp Supply Fabrics sell skiens of hemp yarn. I have knit with it and it is very soft and similar to linen. I also sew quite a bit with hemp material which can be purchased through either place also. Another few books that are good for learning how to knit or from Sally Melville, the knit stitch and the purl stitch. Hope this helps.

  7. Thanks for your comments Darlene, I will certainly check out those sites you mentioned. I had the (false) impression that hemp yarns were rather ‘rough’ for lack of a better word, not as fine as wools etc…I really do want to try knitting with some hemp yarn asap.

    I am not a big fan of Sally M. (I have other posts re her books) and I do think the instructions in Debbie Stoller’s books are better for beginners to follow. My opinion. I know a lot of people love her books (Sally) personal preference I guess. BFN, 🙂

  8. Hello – The hemp yarns and materials I have worked with are quite soft and definitely very wearable. I have made lots of clothes for myself out of the hemp material and it wears like linen, but much easier to clean. As for Sally M. books, I teach knitting classes and most of the students found her books to be easy to use, but of course it definitely a personal preference. Thanks.

  9. Thanks again Darlene for all the helpful info….. I look forward to making some items with hemp yarns and fabric, hopefully soon.

    I think overall that hemp is underrated and that its potential for use is huge. Hopefully that will increase as people continue to look for more environmentally-friendly products.
    BFN 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

