Italian Cabbage One-Dish Dinner

It was "clean out the crisper night", on Wednesday, usually a necessary weekly ( I hate wasting food and veggies certainly don't have a long fridge -life )  ritual that can reap interesting and varied results ( usually good, sometimes so-so, this time… tres yummy!! ).

For starters, I had an almost full bag of coleslaw mix, some leftover tomato sauce and assorted veggies to use up. Also, pasta a plenty, I picked the whole wheat.

Here are the delicious and colorful results, a main dish casserole  recipe from my cookbook. An easy, 'pop it in the oven and forget it dinner '…. that is hearty and satisfying and makes for a nice change. Happy Cooking and Blogging and BFN πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. never in a million years would I have ever come up with mixing cabbage and pasta. But, it sounds and looks good so I’m going to try it the next time I get some cabbage. Have a great w/e Geraldine!

  2. Hi Caroline, It is a nice change and if you have coleslaw mix on hand (without the dressing!) it really is a quick oven dinner too. I love casseroles of all kinds !!!

    Hope you have a great weekend…We still haven’t been ‘snowed on’ hahaha…Hope it goes in another direction. Looks like you are having warm and lovely weather, enjoy and BFN, πŸ™‚

  3. Cabbage and pasta?!?

    I’m going to give it a try… only because it looks SO delicious, and of course because you brought it to my attention. πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Z…Let me know how it goes. It is a different combo of ingredients that just happen to taste great together ! I was inspired by an old family recipe when I put this one together…then I added my own personal touch hahaha. πŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend, stopped by your blog this morning for a visit too.
    BFN, G.

  5. Oh Wow! Whee! I just discovered you, by way of your comment to me on my blog! And I LOVE your blog….You have my permission to add me to your blog-roll and I hope you don’t mind if I add you to mine???

    Once upon a previous life, I was a vegetarian….hoping to head back that way very very soon….at least a pesca-vegie!
    (((hugs)))
    Head scritches to Mitzi – and The Meezer says HI!

  6. Hi and welcome Knitnana….Glad you stopped by. I have already added your link to my blogroll, I really liked your blog…as did Mitzi. Did Meezer get a chance to check out Mitzi’s latest post??? Yes, she really is that smart she does her own typing albeit slowly…hahaha…

    Let me know how the cooking goes, my cookbook is all about comfort cooking for everyone, hearty homestyle recipes, hope you will enjoy!!!

    BFN πŸ™‚

  7. PS By all means, add me to your blogroll if you like, that would be great. πŸ™‚

  8. That looks delicious. My daughter loves pasta.

Thanks so much for your comments!

