The White Rain

The White Rain

Enveloping, encompassing, it comes.

Touching more than mere bodies.

Seeping into our mind and soul.

The White Rain.

 

More than reality or dreams.

More than thoughts or reason.

It takes over a part of us,

not easily explained.

 

Warm, yet icy cold.

Beautiful, but forbidding as well.

The Force, not to be taken lightly.

Our senses, now fully engaged.

 

The White Rain.

It is…..

Whatever you decide it to be.

A state of mind, a lull in the storm.

A subtle bit of nature’s fantasy.

GHH/ 2001

PS With so much rain on the way, thought I would share my take on one of nature’s wonders, taken from my collection of poems. Personally, I love rainy days…..:)

2 responses

  1. Geraldine, that’s lovely! Perfectly describes a cold spring rain, or even sleet or freezing rain. For some reason it reminds me of when I lived in Colorado.

    BTW, we had our first street sweeper today…the town doesn’t send them until they’re sure that they’ll be dumping no more sand and salt on our roads. So perhaps the nice weather really is here to stay.

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  2. Thanks for the kind words Caroline 🙂 Ive always liked rain, in all its wonderful forms, except for the torrential kinds that do so much damage. One of my fond childhood memories was running out to play in a ‘sun shower’ so neat… warm, soft rain with sunshine and a rainbow to enjoy it with.

    I wouldn’t be too sure about those street sweepers hahaha…They’ve started the same thing here and I KNOW we aren’t done with the white stuff yet, just too early.It is very nice here too right now, going up to 20C today.

    Hope you have a very nice Easter, let me know if you try any of my recipes and how it goes. The ‘meatloaf’ is not only tasty, it makes for a very good presentation! So many people have commented on the book cover and said it made them hungry every time they looked at it, also how yummy the results were. I digress….. Can you tell I like to talk and type!!!
    BFN, Geraldine

Thanks so much for your comments!

