Extra-Easy, Extra-Moist Bran Muffins

I have always been a bran-muffin fan as well as a vegetable-lover (even as a kid)!! Overcooked carrots and canned peas were not enough of a deterrent to keep me off the green garden path LOL ;).

Anyways, back to the muffins, this muffin recipe is another staple from my collection. Great just the way they are or add variety with chopped pecans, dried cranberries, carob chips etc…instead of the raisins. Makes 10-12 large muffins.  PS I made mine extra-big….. that’s why there’s only 8! Enjoy….. 

DSCN0157.JPG   

DSCN0163.JPG   

DSCN0168.JPG   

  

Extra-Easy, Extra-Moist Bran Muffins

1/3 C. vegetable oil
1 large egg
4 T. dark brown sugar
1/3 C. molasses
1 ½ C. unbleached white flour
1 C. natural wheat bran (not cereal)
1 teas. EACH baking soda, baking powder, ground cinnamon
½ teas. sea salt
¾ C. plain yogurt
½ C. milk
1 C. raisins (optional)
Preheat oven to 400. Grease muffin tins thoroughly and set aside.
In a large bowl, combine first 4 ingredients.
In a medium-sized bowl, sift together the dry ingredients, adding the raisins if desired.
In a cup or small bowl, combine the yogurt and milk.
Add dry ingredients alternately with the yogurt/milk to the first ingredients,
stirring JUST to combine, don’t over-mix, batter should be lumpy. Pour into prepared muffin tin, filling each cup approx. 2/3 full. Bake 15-20 minutes, until done. Reduce heat to 375 after first 10 minutes if browning too fast.

Variations: Substitute 1 ¼ C. buttermilk for the yogurt/milk.
Add the grated zest of one large orange with the dry ingredients.
Add chopped nuts, dried cranberries etc…or combination of, in place of the raisins.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.
 

7 responses

  1. Mmm … these look delicious and healthy and BIG! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Great site! I’m not a vegetarian but do prepare a lot of vegetarian meals — I will enjoy poking through your recipe archive!

  2. Thanks for your comments Tania. These muffins are consistently good, easy to make and can be varied with the addition of different dried fruits, nuts etc….I like them with golden sultanas most but that’s just me!!!
    Just checked out your blog, it looks terrific, I will be poking through your archives too!!! BFN, Geraldine 🙂

  3. I was really thankful to find this recipe. As you read on my blog, I’ve tried so many bran muffin recipes without finding a recipe I liked enough to make regularly. Yours turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful.

    I usually cut down the sugar or sweetening in almost every recipe I make. It’s just me. I don’t like sweet stuff much — never cared for cakes or cookies; don’t like sweet rolls, pancakes or waffles for breakfast; could go years without eating ice cream. You get the idea. I think it comes from too many years of me or my mom making baklava for Christmas. Sometimes, just the smell is enough to make me gag. That’s also probably why I don’t care for cinnamon in sweets either.

    Thanks again for the recipe.

  4. I just made (another) batch of these, this time with pecans,coconut and raisins. Enjoying one as I surf the web! This should definitely “hold me” til supper time. Yummy good and consistently perfect results. A winning muffin if I may say so myself.

    And so I’ve been told, many times too. 😉

    Happy Cooking and Baking, G

  5. Great recipe! Thanks for posting! Very moist and tasty, didn’t have yogurt, used sour cream. Will try again with some of the variations. Thanks again : )

  6. Thanks for stopping by Lori and glad you enjoyed the muffins. They are still my all-time fav bran muffin recipe. :<)

  7. Sounds good, I will try it out.
    By the way congrats to Mr Ched on winning the lazy cat category for the contest!

Thanks so much for your comments!

