Easy Tex-Mex Chili

 DSCN0140.JPGMore cold weather fare to keep you warm and satisfied! This is my ‘staple’ chili recipe, the one I come back to again and again. Hearty, delicious and just plain good.I am not a fan of chili recipes that are bordering on vegetable stew. To me, adding carrots, celery, green peppers etc…is missing the point! The TVP granules add a meaty texture and also a good protein boost, without the greasy hamburger meat (yuck)…

Try it with sharp grated Cheddar or soy Cheddar and your fav multi-grain buns/bread. Also makes an excellent filling for burritos and tacos. Serves 6-8. Vegan friendly.  A meal in a bowl! 

Easy Tex-Mex Chili
1 C. TVP (textured vegetable protein granules)
1 teas. onion soup powder or 1 cube
2 T. vegetable oil
2 medium onions, coarsely diced
14 oz. can vegetarian beans in tomato sauce
2 C. precooked kidney beans (or canned rinsed and drained kidney beans)
28 oz. can stewed tomatoes, with juice
2-3 T. good quality chili powder, to taste
1 T. cumin seeds (don’t leave out, this spice adds a great taste)
¼-1/2 teas. freshly-ground pepper or cayenne, to taste
1 teas. Mrs. Dash Original Seasoning Blend or Spike Seasoning Blend
DSCN0137.JPG

 In progress…….

 In a small bowl, reconstitute the TVP with 1 C. boiling water. Stir in the onion soup powder and set aside.

In a large Dutch oven, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add onions and sauté for 5 minutes. Add all remaining ingredients and stir to combine thoroughly. Bring to boil, reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, for 1 hour. Adjust seasonings and serve. Freezes well, excellent reheated.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way

5 responses

  1. I have never cooked with TVP before! This will be interesting. I will let you know the results, although it might be a while before I pick up the TVP. Thanks for the idea!

  2. TVP is a great staple food to have on hand. It works well in chili, lasagne, veggie meatloaf, pasta sauces and so much more. Adds a meaty texture, without the meat and picks up the flavors of the foods in the recipe much like hamburger meat does.

    Hope you enjoy the chili…our latest batch is all gone, much too soon!!!
    Cheers! Geraldine

  3. Geraldine, that was great! I can’t believe I’ve been cooking veggie meals for so long without knowing about TVP. I feel so ignorant. Normally I make veggie chili with the same ingredients above, but no TVP–It gave chili so more more texture. Anyway, I have a question, which is, at the store I also saw TSP textured soy protein. Both TSP & TVP seem to be made out of soy, so can you tell me what the difference is in terms of cooking, like when would I use one instead of the other?

  4. Hi Caroline, I checked out the two names and as I thought, they are just two different terms for the same product. Perhaps different brands calling it different names, both are actually a soy product. At our local health food stores, it is always called TVP, and sold as a store-brand bulk food product.
    Glad you liked the chili too. TVP is a great addition to a lot of hamburger-type recipes, adds the same type of texture but not all the animal fat.
    Happy Cooking!!! Geraldine

  5. This is all very helpful.I have only figured out how to cook with tofu and now TVP/TSP. This inspires me to look into other things like tempeh that I’ve shied away from b/c I didn’t know what to do with them. Gracias mi amiga!

Thanks so much for your comments!

