Book Review:Knitting Yarns and Spinning Tales

 knitting book.jpgI just finished this book and it proved to be a good read from cover to cover. A collection of yarn tales by various authors. Some happy stories, others sad, all were interesting. I am not usually a fan of short stories but I did enjoy these. Made for  a nice change to enjoy a complete story in about 10 minutes each (usually designated as knit or crochet breaks); perfect for ‘waiting times’ throughout the day. A quick, pick-me-up.

Of the stories included in this collection, I particularly enjoyed: The Road to Becoming the Fastest Crocheter in the World, by Lily Chin (what a hoot!), The Perfect Baby Hat by  Amy Votava  (accepting our imperfections and moving on) and Ode to My Stash by Sigrid Arnott (I could relate, I couldn’t possibly have an actual yarn stash, could I ? ) .

Published by Whitecap Books and edited by Kari Cornell. The edition I bought was nicely bound, the pages were high quality ‘crunchy’ paper stock making it an attractive book in addition to being a satisfying read. Would also make an excellent gift for any knitter or crocheter.   

Thanks so much for your comments!

