Savory Cheddar-Cheese Muffins

These muffins have received rave reviews from so many of my cookbook readers. And thousands of page reads, here at Veggies…So easy to make and  always delicious. Adding crushed, dried herbs makes these muffins ideal to accompany any soup. Leave the herbs out, add your favorite jam or preserves and you have a satisfying breakfast to go. Enjoy!!!     

 DSCN00471.JPG

Makes 8 large muffins. 

2 C. unbleached white flour 

2 teas. baking powder 

 ½ teas. sea salt 

1 C. shredded sharp Cheddar cheese (no subs.) 

 Optional herbs: 1/2 – 1 T. crushed dried thyme or savory, 2T. chopped dried parsley, 1 teas. Mrs. Dash or Spike Seasoning Blend

1 C. milk 

1 large egg, beaten 

¼ C. light olive or vegetable oil 

Preheat oven to 400. Grease muffin tin and set aside. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt. Add shredded cheese and  (optional) herbs and stir to combine. In a small bowl, combine remaining liquid ingredients. Add to flour mixture, stirring just to combine, don’t over-mix. Spoon into prepared muffin tin, filling each cup ¾ full. Bake 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out clean. Reduce heat to 350 after first 10 minutes if browning too fast.

Variation: Use buttermilk instead of regular milk. If using buttermilk, substitute  1 teas. baking powder  and  1 teas. baking soda instead of  the 2 teas. baking powder as written above.

Reprinted from: Not Just for Vegetarians, Delicious Homestyle Cooking, the Meatless Way by Geraldine Hartman. All rights reserved.  

12 responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this! I’ve jotted it down and will try to make it this weekend. It will be great “cold weather” food for us down here where it’s a mere 55 degrees F! HA!

  2. You might also like to try the potato soup recipe (a couple of posts down the page) to go with, makes a hearty meal and it will keep you warm in those frigid temps. hahahaha…..Let’s hope for an early spring!
    Geraldine

  3. […] were one of the vegetarian muffins. Their recipe isn’t posted on the web, but here’s a similar one, just add 3/4 cup ham, 1 Tb. brown sugar, and leave out the herbs to make it like Clean […]

  4. Hi,
    Found this recipe while googling for cheddar muffin recipes and was so glad to see this one was butter-free and did not use a baking mix. I followed the recipe exactly, except added one chopped jalapeno to the batter and used buttermilk instead of milk, coz thats what I had. Came out surprisingly good!! Very light and fluffy. Would add a little more cheese next time – just my personal taste. O/w this recipe is a keeper!! Thanks so much. Can’t wait to make this again!

  5. Re: buttermilk, I’ve used this too and works fine but I adjusted the leavening agent as follows:

    1 teas. baking soda and 1 teas. baking powder instead of the 2 teas. of baking powder

    works very well.

    Happy Baking, G

  6. I made these today for a diabetic guest. They were yummy! None left! Thank you!

  7. I mostly followed this recipe. I added parley, taco seasoning, fried dried garlic, chopped red bell peppers and used a shredded Mexican cheese. I also used 1 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp baking soda.

    As a treat I put a little spoon of cream cheese into the center of each muffin. They are so light and fluffy and the taste is heavenly. Thank you for your recipe. It inspired me to play in the kitchen today!

  8. Hello, I must say I was just yesterday looking for a good cheese bread of some kind, T is a lover of not only sweets but of anything made with cheese! I came across a couple of recipes and was not that hip and then you post this, perfect timing! Guess we will be having some savory cheddar cheese muffins sometime this week! I too have some thyme in the house! Yummy! You read my mind….RaeDi

  9. I came back to get the recipe, going to make T some today! ….RaeDi

  10. Hi Hannah, Very belated but you are most welcome. 😉

    Hi Katrina, Your variation sounds intriguing. I hope you enjoy lots of fun in the kitchen. One of my fav rooms to play in LOL.

    Hi Rachael, Hope you enjoy these and perhaps we’ll see one of your wonderful food posts featuring these muffins! I’m getting hungry just thinking about them.

    Happy Baking, G 🙂

  11. I love these. A restaurant serves something similar and I make them. Same recipe plus you melt butter and add garlic to it and pour over the top as soon as they come out of the oven. Yummy.

  12. I picked this out from your popular posts — and yummy am I glad I did … 🙂

    Have some catching up to do ~~ Have a blessed week!

Thanks so much for your comments!

