Have You Ever Made Rye Bread from Scratch?

rye bread

I’m making scratch rye bread this afternoon, after finding this yummy-sounding (and easy) recipe over at:

The Hungry Mouse

(click to see full recipe with how-to photos).

I’ve printed out the recipe and have all the ingredients on hand, so I’m ready to go!

I love making scratch breads. Such fun and a good arm workout too. ;)

Speaking of printing the recipe, if you copy it  from The Hungry Mouse, you’ll just get the text when you paste, which suited me fine. I didn’t want to have to delete all the photos before printing. ;) The photo above is actually from Flickr. 

For any of you who have tried rye bread making before, you’ll probably already know that a lot of these recipes are complicated and take a lot of time. This one doesn’t. 

I’ll let you know how mine turns out.

It’s a perfect day for baking here in BC, rather chilly and rainy. 

How is your weather?

We are having a cool start to summer here but that’s just fine by me.

Happy Baking. :)

Bread photo courtesy of : Flickr

3 responses

  1. I love rye bread and love making bread from scratch but I have no-one to make it for. If I do as I like, I’ll end up eating both loaves in two days. We wouldn’t want that, would we. The guilt alone will make me swell like yeast. :-) Hmm. I can smell it from here Sigh.

  2. Love, love, love rye bread! I miss it from N.Y. Chopped liver on rye – ooooh la la. Maybe add a little pastrami. Oy vey! I won’t make it here in Costa Rica – too busy and may not be able to get ingredients. Enjoyed the rye envy! Thanks, Geraldine!

  3. Hi Tess, I hear ya, re: eating both loaves, no prob for me either. ;) But I don’t!!!

    Hi Carole, I like rye bread with lots of toppings in a sandwich. Veggie slices, cheese, pickles, hummus, red onions, mayo…yummm! I’m guessing bread baking wouldn’t be all that common in Costa Rica, given the hot days. ;)

    The bread came out great btw. The only thing I did a bit different than the recipe, I didn’t use parchment on the pan, just greased it. I also brushed a bit of butter on to the crust when it came out, to keep it soft. It’s a yummy light rye and the recipe amounts etc,are right on. Next time, I’m also going to add a 1/2 C. sunflower seeds.

    Happy Baking, G

Thanks so much for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 453 other followers

