A Sneak Peek Recipe from My Upcoming Cookbook!

southern nights gumbo

My new cookbook: The Groovy Green Kitchen II. Simply, Super, Supper Soups is coming along nicely! ;)

I’ve still got a lot of typing ahead of me, formatting and a few more recipes to develop. But well on the way.

In the meantime, I thought you might enjoy a ‘sneak peek’ recipe to enjoy now:

Southern Nights Slow Cooker Veggie-Sausage Gumbo.

If you didn’t think gumbo could be good without shrimp or meat added to it, think again.

This version is truly: YUMMY GOOD! :)

What a perfect time of year to enjoy a bowl of hearty, stick-to-your ribs gumbo.

And this one is oh so easy, from the slow cooker!

I featured some herbs and spices from The Spice House  in this gumbo and they have now added this recipe to their website for readers to enjoy there too. Hope you will as well!

Stay tuned for the second volume of The Groovy Green Kitchen, which I hope to have available at Amazon by the end of February.

And if you haven’t checked it out already, here’s a link to the first volume of that cookbook series:

The Groovy Green Kitchen: Weeknight Veggie Slow Cooker. Comfort Main Dishes with Quick and Easy Sides

 (Kindle and Print versions available)

Happy Cooking! :)

***

Southern Nights Slow Cooker Veggie-Sausage Gumbo.

Copyright 2014,  Geraldine Helen Hartman. All rights reserved.

10 responses

  1. Ooo! I’m such a wannabe vegetarian, but I am married to a staunch carnivore. And I kinda like the taste of meat myself – oops! This looks good, Geraldine.

  2. Yum is gooood Tess. ;)

    Glenda, I really don’t think you’d miss the meat if you tried this version of gumbo! I use Tofurky brand vegan sausages in a lot of my recipes, incl. this one, to add a meaty flavour.

    I have had a LOT of meat-eaters tell me over the years that if they could eat recipes like mine every day, they wouldn’t bother with any more meat. :) And several who did go vegetarian, after that too. High praise indeed.

    That’s where I started when I began my cookbook- writing journey over 10 years ago, designing recipes that everyone would like: vegetarians, confirmed meat-eaters, kids (the pickier the better, I like a challenge!);) vegans…and I’ve had a lot of great feedback from all of these groups!

    I know that there are vegetarian/vegan recipes that turn meat-eaters off big time, that they consider gross or like “rabbit food”. Too much emphasis on plain tofu or beans, weird food combinations, unappealing colors, not good seasonings or flavour blends , bland…but that is definitely not what good vegetarian cuisine is all about.

    Check out my cookbooks or my recipe archives Glenda and give a few recipes a try. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised. This recipe is a very good one to start with, if you like meaty flavour and texture in your heartier soups! Enjoy.

    Is anyone else noting the LIKES at WP acting wonky today? I have several when I’m looking via the Reader but none here showing up right now. What gives WP! ;)

  3. This gumbo is fantastic. I’d like a bowl right now. Yes it is yummy good. Can you make some soon again?

  4. Systme courrier

    good heavens G. back on my old e-mail I have 800 some comments so that’s where they went oh my gosh

  5. Looks sooo delicous! I love gumbo and want to try this recipe!

  6. Plain tofu or any kind=yucky. Great to see alternatives.

  7. That looks lovely! I’m veggie so always on the lookout for new recipes.

  8. I will make some again soon! Thanks for the reminder Joe.

    Ahh..mystery solved Lorraine, good to hear. ;)

    Let me know if you do Julianna. I hope you enjoy this recipe!

    I agree with the alternatives Carl, that’s what my recipes are all about, nothing bland, beige or boring here. ;)

    Great to read you are a vegetarian Lady Fi! Let me know if you give this gumbo a try too.

    Happy Cooking, G

  9. something else I really, really like and I’d love to have them made “healthy by you': sandwiches, the kind of bread, the kind of butter.marg, healthy healthy veg or veg meat or burger or the real thing like you know like asparagus and egg sandwich and what to use as spread and etc… that I would buy immediately-I found out I like spelt bread any bread as long as it’s fresh…I’d love that so much I’d make sure that I have any money to buy on kindle, no kidding

Thanks so much for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

