Yearning for the Yukon

Geraldine:

**This is a post from several years ago that I thought some of my newer readers might enjoy reading.**

As I wrote at that time, the Yukon Territory in Canada’s North left a lasting impression on me and Joe.

We are hoping to move back there, in the not too distant future.

Hope you enjoy this cyber re-visit to one of the nicest places I’ve visited or lived to date.

What is the best place you’ve ever lived? Do share! ;-)

Originally posted on VEGGIES, YARNS & TAILS:

 

In December 2006, we had just moved from our home province of Saskatchewan (on the Canadian Prairies) to Whitehorse, Yukon.

Unfortunately, we faced a number of personal hardships(not related to our move) while in the Yukon which took away from fully enjoying our experience there. Long story….things did get better, but very hard to face at the time.

On the plus side though, Whitehorse and the Yukon left many lasting memories that Joe and I still treasure:

*The absolute quiet and tranquility we enjoyed and often only minutes away from the downtown core.

*The extraordinary beauty of the Yukon (similar to BC but at the same time different. To be there is to understand).

*The incredible, everchanging skies. The horizon so tangible.

*Feeling more in tune with nature .

*Being ‘North of 60′ brings it’s own unique experience to those who go there. Again, to be there is to…

View original 507 more words

4 responses

  1. Yukon is a great place. These photos remind me of how nice it is and some good memories we have from that time too.

  2. Oh my gosh so much beauty, so much peace, and friendly people, not nosy just friendly mountains and creeks, must be heaven…no wonder you want to go back. I hope you do, soon, and I hope you can connect to the internet…I’m being selfish, Have a good one G. having so many problems with posting and blogger and google and arrrgh take a deep breath, now that’s better

  3. Lovely frosty shots!

  4. the nicest place I’ve ever lived is where we are right now. We live on a rather tiny island on the north shore of Boston. We are connected to the mainland by a 2 mile causeway. I love this place and hope to be able to spend the rest of my life here. I never want to leave.

Thanks so much for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

