Making Any Resolutions For The New Year? ;-)

043.jpg

What a perfect time of year this is, for reflection and quiet contemplation.

To look forward and also, to celebrate what we have achieved in the past year.

And to focus on what we hope to achieve, improve and change in the New Year.

A fresh palette awaits! ;)

♥♥

And then there are New Year’s resolutions…what do you think?

Are they a good or bad idea?

According to a poll at Forbes Magazine (click to read post) less than 10% of people that make resolutions, actually keep them for the full year. Most are forgotten by the end of January. :(

But this article does have some good tips how to actually succeed at keeping resolutions throughout the year and making some positive changes that actually last and that improve our lives in the long-run significantly.

Two of many suggestions: Keep it simple and specific.

I’m only making one resolution this year but for me, it’s a biggie.

No, it’s not about losing weight or giving up smoking; those two seem to be at the top of so many resolution lists.  I’m actually quite happy with my weight right now, although more exercise is on the agenda for the new year. And I LOATHE smoking so that’s something I’ve never had to try to give up.

My resolution for 2014:

To stop dwelling on regrets or “beating myself up” about mistakes I’ve made in the past. It serves no purpose and generates a lot of bad energy in the present.

Some of those “mistakes” and regrets I now realize were the best decisions I could have made at the time, all things considered. And the ones that could have been smarter or thought out more…well, they were made, they can’t be changed now, so why make myself miserable thinking about what might have been a better road to take, at that time.

I’m really going to try to stop this self-defeating “what -if” kind of mind-speak, once and for all, this year. Wish me luck!

What resolution(s) have you made for 2014? Do share.

I hope you reach and savor all your new goals, whatever they are.

Wishing You All:

A Happy and Healthy 2014!

 May it be the best year ever, for all of us! :)

9 responses

  1. Wishing you a very happy & healthy new year!
    I love your resolution – it is profound, yet, simple. we must release the past in order to live fully present in the moment :) you can do it!
    I think my resolution is going to be to live in each moment fully present. those precious moments are always slipping by… hehehe.

  2. A good resolution, simple but efficient.
    I still haven’t made any except to be more understandind.
    Happy New Year.

  3. Thanks; may you be successful in achieving your goal. Happy New Year!

  4. THIS IS JOE’s COMMENT NOT MINE.

    WP IS ACTING WONKY AGAIN ABOUT SIGNING IN WITH EMAIL ADDRESSES. :(

    That’s a very good resolution and I know you are going to keep it.

    It’s going to be a very positive year for all of us, I can feel it.

    One of my resolutions is to be more positive and to let go of bad energy before it increases.

    Happy New Year to Veggie..readers.

  5. Happy New Year Geraldine.
    Now is precious and always here.

  6. Happy 2014 dear G, I know it will bring you what you need, that I am certain.
    I need hope to make resolutions, so my resolution is to be hopeful, and I don’t really know if can hope…

  7. And Happy New Year to you too Audrey!

    I agree, if we aren’t careful, the good ‘stuff’ can slip by, while we are dwelling on things from the past, what a good point.

    Tess, understanding is one that I need to work on too, I’m quick to jump to conclusions at times but I am working on it. ;) Thanks for the reminder!

    And to you too Patti! :)

    Oh, that bad energy can really drag a person down. I agree Joe, got to let go of it pronto! ;)

    Edgar, I love that, thank you for this beautiful thought.

    We all need to be hopeful and to take action at the same time Lorraine, I really believe that. Sometimes it’s hard to make changes. But the rewards can be so worth it. I hope it’s a much better year for you too. :)

    Sending lots of good wishes to all of you, G

  8. Now that is the kind of resolution I can get behind. Happy, happy new year to you and gorgeous Mr. Cheddar!

Thanks so much for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

