Making Chili? Try These Cornbread Muffins! :<)

I made a big batch of Slow-Cooker Chili yesterday and thought some cornbread muffins or scones would be nice to go with it. Instead of my usual stand-by recipes, I decided to take a browse online and found this one at the Land O Lakes site:

Sour Cream Cornbread Muffins.

These muffins were wonderful!  

I don’t know why the comments/reviews on the site vary so much about these, some people loved them and others ..not so much.

I did tweak the recipe a bit:

-Instead of milk I used water .

- I baked them at 400F not 425F to avoid overbrowning.

-Also, DO use paper liners when you make these. I was out of liners and they were a bit hard to get out of the tin afterwards.

-I made 8 large muffins instead of 12.

I wish I had my own photo to share but the last 3 were finished off at breakfast today with cherry jam. Joe is a “hearty” eater, nuff said! ;)

Happy Baking and Happy New Year. :)

5 responses

  1. These were the delicious as was the chili. I am a hearty eater, especially when there’s great stuff to eat.

  2. [...] vegan recipesNew York chefs have some interesting ideas on using that leftover Thanksgiving turkeyVEGGIES, YARNS & TAILSvar base_url_sociable = 'http://questionsveganrecipesforkids.com/wp-content/plugins/sociable/&#039; [...]

  3. gosh make me drool again, Joe is lucky!

  4. Hi Joe, I will definitely make these again. Would be great with my black bean soup too I think. Yum!!! ;)

    Hi Lorraine, He knows it LOL. ;)

    Hugs to both of you, G

  5. Sounds like a good one. I’m hungry just thinking about this. You remind me I need to make better use of my slow cooker.

Thanks so much for your comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers

